Skip Navigation Links
      RS 51:1021     




§1021.  Entry into alliance; purpose

A.  The Tri-State Delta Economic Alliance is hereby enacted into law and entered into by the state of Louisiana to be formed with Arkansas and Mississippi legally joining therein in accordance with its terms.

B.  The alliance shall include but not be limited to ten parishes in Louisiana, ten counties in Mississippi, and ten counties in Arkansas, all of which are to be located in the Mississippi Delta area in those three contiguous states of the delta. Specifically, as authorized by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 46 of the 1994 Regular Session, East Carroll Parish shall be included in the compact, and may join with Washington County, Mississippi, and Chicot County, Arkansas, to apply for an empowerment zone, enterprise community, and/or the Fund for Rural America projects, or for any other state or federal funds or benefits that may be available.

C.  The purpose of the alliance is to promote, encourage, and participate in industrial development, to combat poverty and high unemployment through economic development, to stimulate the economy of the delta region through commerce, industry, and research and for the utilization and development of natural, physical, and human resources in the region by providing job opportunities and job skills training.

Acts 1997, No. 125, §1; Acts 2002, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 43, §1, eff. April 18, 2002.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062