Skip Navigation Links
      RS 51:1318     


§1318.  Creation of the Encore Louisiana Commission; domicile; composition; membership; officers; staff; expenses; terms; quorum

A.  The Encore Louisiana Commission, hereinafter referred to as the "commission", is hereby created as an agency of the state in the office of the lieutenant governor.  The commission shall be a body politic and corporate entity with the power to sue and be sued. The commission shall be domiciled in Baton Rouge.

B.  The commission shall be composed of the following eleven members who shall be residents of the state:

(1)  The governor or his designee.

(2)  The lieutenant governor or his designee.

(3)  The secretary of the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism or his designee.

(4)  The secretary of the Department of Economic Development or his designee.

(5)  As provided in Subsection C of this Section, one member from each of the following five state tourism marketing regions: Sportsman's Paradise, Crossroads, Cajun Country, Plantation Country, and Greater New Orleans.

(6)  The president of the Senate or his designee.

(7)  The speaker of the House of Representatives or his designee.

C.  The lieutenant governor shall appoint one member from each of the five state tourism marketing regions.  Each appointment by the lieutenant governor shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation.

D.  All members shall be knowledgeable, interested, and active in developing, marketing, and promoting Louisiana as a desirable place of residency for persons fifty years old and above.

E.  The lieutenant governor or his designee may serve as chairman of the commission or may designate one of its members as chairman.

F.  The lieutenant governor shall employ an executive director and other staff, as may be required, and fix and pay their compensation from funds available to the commission.

G.  The chairman shall have the ability to name individuals as ex officio members of the commission.  Such ex officio members shall be nonvoting members.

H.  Members of the commission shall receive no compensation for their services as members of the commission but shall be entitled to their actual expenses for necessary travel and for other expenses incurred in the performance of their duties as members of the commission.  Such expenses shall be paid out of funds available to the commission.

I.  Each appointed member shall serve a term concurrent with that of the lieutenant governor making the appointment.  A vacancy shall be filled in the manner of the original appointment within sixty days.  Any members appointed to fill a vacancy in an unexpired term shall be appointed only for the remainder of such term.  Any member of the commission appointed for a definite term may serve after the expiration of his term until his successor has taken office.

J.  A quorum to transact business shall be a majority of the voting members of the commission.

Acts 1999, No. 1099, §2; Acts 2008, No. 804, §2; Acts 2009, No. 342, §3.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062