Skip Navigation Links
      RS 37:711.4     


§711.4.  Board; appointments; terms

A.  The Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists is hereby created to administer the provisions of this Chapter.  The board shall consist of nine members, six of whom shall be licensed geoscientists, one of whom shall be a licensed professional engineer with expertise in geotechnical engineering and geoscience, and two of whom shall be members of the public.

B.(1)  The governor shall appoint all members to the board subject to Senate confirmation.

(2)  The governor shall nominate at least one member from each congressional district.

(3)  Except for the two members of the public, the governor shall select the nominees from lists of names submitted by each of the following:

(a)  The Louisiana Engineering Society.

(b)  The New Orleans Geological Society.

(c)  The Baton Rouge Geological Society.

(d)  The Shreveport Geological Society.

(e)  The Lafayette Geological Society.

C.  The members shall serve at the pleasure of the governor.

D.  Repealed by Acts 2012, No. 308, §2, eff. May 25, 2012.

E.  On or after January 1, 2013, no employee of the Department of Natural Resources, including but not limited to the office of conservation, or the Department of Environmental Quality shall be appointed to the board.

Acts 2010, No. 974, §1, eff. Jan. 1, 2011; Acts 2012, No. 308, §§1, 2, eff. May 25, 2012.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062