Skip Navigation Links
      RS 37:1432     


§1432.  Louisiana Real Estate Commission; qualifications; terms of office

A.  The Louisiana Real Estate Commission is hereby created within the office of the governor.  The commission shall consist of eleven members appointed by the governor.  One member shall be appointed from each of the seven supreme court districts.  Two members shall be appointed at large.  Two members shall be appointed from the following districts: one appointee from either the Fourth Congressional District or the Fifth Congressional District and one appointee from either the First, Second, Third, or Sixth Congressional District.  Each appointment by the governor shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation.

B.  Each appointment to the commission shall be for a six-year term. No commissioner shall serve more than one six-year term.

C.  Members of the commission shall be citizens and qualified electors of this state.  Each member shall have actively engaged in the real estate business as a broker for at least five years next preceding the date of appointment.

D.  A vacancy caused by any reason except the expiration of the term shall be filled by appointment by the governor for the remainder of the unexpired term.

E.  The governor may remove any member of the commission for cause.

Acts 1978, No. 514, §1.  Amended by Acts 1980, No. 730, §1, eff. July 29, 1980; Acts 1989, No. 655, §1, eff. Jan. 1, 1990; Acts 1991, No. 436, §1; Acts 2001, No. 8, §12, eff. July 1, 2001; Acts 2005, No. 78, §1; Acts 2009, No. 104, §1; Acts 2012, No. 803, §9.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062