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Current law provides that courts shall order the installment of ignition interlock devices on vehicles owned by offenders
convicted of driving while impaired; provides a probationary period during which the ignition interlock device shall remain on
the vehicle. Proposed law authorizes courts to order the offender to wear an electronic alcohol monitoring device as an
alternative to installing an ignition interlock device; provides that a court may authorize an offender who is wearing an
electronic alcohol monitoring device to drive an employer-owned vehicle that does not have an ignition interlock device, if
required in the course and scope of his employment.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure.

Proposed law may result in a decrease of $327,856 in Federal Funds in the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission under the
Alcohol Ignition Interlock Law Grant. The Alcohol Ignition Interlock Law Grant (U.S. 23 CFR 1300.23) requires all individuals
convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol, driving while intoxicated, or those who refuse to submit to a chemical or
other appropriate test to drive only motor vehicles equipped with alcohol-ignition interlock devices for 180 days, and not
receive any driving privilege or driver’s license unless the device is installed on each motor vehicle registered, owned, or
leased by the individual. The proposed law removes the requirement that an offender, who has obtained a restricted license
and wears a functioning electronic alcohol monitoring device, install an ignition interlock device, which has the potential of
making state law noncompliant with the requirements of the Alcohol Ignition Interlock Law Grant. To the extent that the
National Highway Transportation Safety Administration does not allow for an exception for the use of electronic alcohol
monitoring devices, the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission may experience a reduction in Federal funding.
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