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Purpose of Bill: This bill amends the regulations governing the Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy (Board) to: (1) require
unannounced, in-person inspections of establishments receiving complaints of illicit activity within 10 days of receipt of the
complaint; (2) expand criminal background checks to include establishment licensees and applicants; (3) require federal and
state background checks on all renewing applicants; (4) require that the establishment license be revoked if the owner,
manager, or supervisor of a massage therapy establishment violates laws related to the operation of a massage therapy
establishment; (5) prohibit the issuance of an occupational license, permit, or establishment license for a massage therapy
establishment at the same address or premises of a revoked license; and (6) require data regarding complaints, inspections,
and licenses to be reported to the legislature annually.

This bill is anticipated to increase annual expenditures for the Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy (Board) by
approximately $4,600.

Inspections: A Board official indicated that the requirement to conduct certain inspections within 10 days is not expected to
impact Board expenditures as this provision changes the timing of inspection activities rather than increasing the amount of
inspections.

Background Checks: A Board official indicated that the expanded background check requirements may add 4,100 additional
checks annually, which may increase Board expenditures related to annual licensing renewals by $3,300 annually due to an
additional 100 hours of overtime. A Louisiana Department of Public Safety (DPS) official indicated that the additional
background checks are not expected to impact DPS expenditures as these checks are processed by third parties.

Reporting to Legislature: A Board official indicated that the annual reporting requirements provided by the bill may require
approximately 40 hours of staff overtime annually for data compilation and report preparation, which may increase Board
expenditures by approximately $1,300 annually.

This bill may increase annual agency self-generated revenue for the Louisiana Department of Public Safety
(DPS) by $107,000.

Background Checks: A Board official indicated the additional background checks provided by the bill are not expected to
impact Board revenue as the Board does not receive any fees associated with these background checks. A DPS official
indicated that DPS receives a $26 fee for each background check processed. Based on the Board's estimate of approximately
4,100 additional background checks annually resulting from this bill, DPS revenue may increase by approximately $107,000
per year (4,100 checks * $26 fee/check).
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