Skip Navigation Links
      RS 48:101     



§101.  Creation of commission, appointment and terms of members; meetings; compensation

A.  The Mississippi River Parkway Commission of Louisiana is hereby created and established.  It shall be composed of ten members appointed by the governor, two of whom shall be from the Department of Transportation and Development upon the recommendation of the secretary, who shall be appointed for a term of one year, and the remainder to be from various parishes directly affected by the Mississippi River Parkway.  Two members shall be appointed for terms of two years, two shall be appointed for terms of three years, two shall be appointed for terms of four years, and two shall be appointed for terms of five years.  All successor members shall be appointed for terms of five years.  Immediately upon making any appointment the governor shall so notify the national Mississippi River Parkway Planning Commission, hereinafter called the National Commission, giving the names and addresses of the member or members so appointed.  Each appointment by the governor shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation.

B.  At the first meeting of the commission and annually thereafter, the members shall select a chairman and a secretary from the membership.  Meetings of the commission shall be called by the chairman on his own notice or on request of any five members.  Except in the case of an emergency, notice of the time and place of each meeting shall be given to each member at least five days prior to the date of the meeting.  Every meeting of the commission shall be held at some suitable place in one of the parishes in which the Great River Road is situated, except that any meeting may be held at any other suitable place upon majority vote of the members.  Any four members shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of transacting any business of the commission.

C.  The members shall receive no compensation for their services on the commission and shall receive no reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending the meetings of the commission, provided that they may be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses incurred in attending the annual meeting or any special meeting of the National Commission when payment for such expenses has been approved by the chairman.

Added by Acts 1980, No. 760, §1; Acts 2003, No. 774, §12.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062