2017 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 186

BY REPRESENTATIVE DUSTIN MILLER

A RESOLUTION

To commend The Walking Ladies of Opelousas, Susie Glowacki, Cathy Hebert, Cynthia Lormand, and Alice Morrow, along with Marguerite Thisthlethwaite Bordelon and Jeannine Wallace, for their fundraising efforts to enhance downtown Opelousas.

WHEREAS, for the past twenty years, Susie Glowacki, Cathy Hebert, Cynthia Lormand, and Alice Morrow have been seen walking together most mornings of the week in Opelousas; these ladies traverse up to four miles each day they walk, and the businesspeople and residents near downtown have come to call these women "The Walking Ladies"; and

WHEREAS, in advance of the city's tricentennial celebration in 2020, The Walking Ladies and Jeannine Wallace raised \$18,000 for the Opelousas courthouse lighting enhancement project; the money was obtained through business and individual sponsorships, and the project included lighting on the oak trees in the courthouse square; and

WHEREAS, "Wine Up at the Village", a wine-tasting and appetizers festival in the historic Le Vieux Village area to be held on Thursday, June 8, 2017, continues The Walking Ladies' goal of raising funds for Opelousas lighting enhancements; proceeds from this event will also be used to fund a Nativity scene on the courthouse square; and

WHEREAS, The Walking Ladies now includes a fifth member, Marguerite Thisthlethwaite Bordelon; it is appropriate to commend the civic pride these women have displayed in lighting up downtown Opelousas.

HR NO. 186 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend The Walking Ladies, Susie Glowacki, Cathy Hebert, Cynthia Lormand, and Alice Morrow, along with Marguerite Thisthlethwaite Bordelon and Jeannine Wallace, for their fundraising efforts to enhance downtown Opelousas and does hereby express best hopes for continued success in the beautification of their hometown.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that suitable copies of this Resolution be transmitted to Susie Glowacki, Cathy Hebert, Cynthia Lormand, Alice Morrow, Marguerite Thisthlethwaite Bordelon, and Jeannine Wallace.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES