2018 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 89

BY SENATOR MORRELL

A RESOLUTION

To designate April 11, 2018, as Tourism Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.

WHEREAS, 2016 was the fifth consecutive record-breaking year in tourism with forty-six million seven hundred thousand people visiting Louisiana and spending a total of sixteen billion eight hundred million dollars; and

WHEREAS, 2016 visitor expenditures resulted in over one billion dollars in state tax revenue; and

WHEREAS, the revenue generated from domestic and international visitors represents a remarkable forty-to-one return on investment of state funding of the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, office of tourism; and

WHEREAS, tourism employment ranked fourth in the number of jobs created in 2016, and travel spending supports two hundred thirty-one thousand five hundred sixty-seven jobs in Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, no state general funds are appropriated for tourism and tourism is funded exclusively by a dedication of three one-hundredths of a cent of sales tax; and

WHEREAS, the funds generated by this dedication have been and continue to be used by the office of tourism to promote tourism in our state, and as a result they create enormous economic impact; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Travel Promotion Association board of directors, on behalf of the more than seven hundred fifty tourism professional members of the association, recommends that the office of tourism be able to use the full Louisiana Tourism Promotion District budget as statutorily intended for the promotion of tourism.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby designate Wednesday, April 11, 2018, as Tourism Day at the Louisiana State

SR NO. 89

Capitol and does hereby express appreciation and support for the fine work of the office of tourism in its mission to bring visitors to Louisiana and provide ambassadorial and financial benefits to the state.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the assistant secretary of the office of tourism in the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE