RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 226 (SB 22) 2018 Regular Session Thompson

<u>Prior law</u> provided that the district shall be governed and controlled by a board of nine commissioners.

New law increases the membership of the board from nine to 10.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that five members will be appointed at the discretion of the governor, two of whom will be minorities.

<u>New law</u> provides that six members will be appointed at the discretion of the governor, two of whom will be minorities.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that five members, consisting of five appointments at the discretion of the governor, will be appointed for six-year terms.

<u>New law</u> provides that six members, consisting of six appointments at the discretion of the governor, will be appointed for six-year terms.

Effective upon signature of the governor (May 15, 2018).

(Amends R.S. 38:3087.4(A) and (B))