RESUME DIGEST
ACT 246 (SB 472) 2018 Regular Session Johns

New law requires that the deputy secretary of the Department of Public Safety and
Corrections (DPS&P), public safety services, create and issue the "Autism" special prestige
license plate.

Provides for issuance of the plate to an applicant who is a Louisiana resident.

Requires that the department collect an annual royalty fee of $25 in addition to the standard
motor vehicle license tax and a $3.50 handling fee for each plate to be retained by the
department to offset a portion of administrative costs.

Requires the department to forward the royalty monies collected to the Autism
Society-Louisiana State Chapter, Inc.

New law also requires that the deputy secretary of DPS&P, public safety services, create and
issue the "Louisiana Motor Transport Association" special prestige license plate for use on
any personal motor vehicle or commercial vehicle under 16,000 Ibs which does not require
apportioned plates as established by the International Registration Plan.

Requires that the secretary work in conjunction with the executive director of the La. Motor
Transport Association, Inc. to select the color and design of the plate, provided it is in
compliance with prior law and authorizes the plate to be issued, upon application, to any
citizen of La. in the same manner as any other motor vehicle license plate.

Requires that the department collect an annual royalty fee of $25 in addition to the standard
motor vehicle license tax and a $3.50 handling fee for each plate to be retained by the
department to offset a portion of administrative costs and specifies that the royalty fee

collected by the department be forwarded to the La. Motor Transport Association, Education
Foundation.

Provides for the adoption of rules and regulations necessary to implement its provisions.
Effective January 1, 2019.

(Adds R.S. 47:463.196 and 463.197)



