SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 228

BY SENATORS PERRY AND CORTEZ

A RESOLUTION

To commend St. Thomas More High School of Lafayette, Louisiana, on winning the Louisiana High School Lacrosse League state championship.

WHEREAS, to win the state championship, the St. Thomas More Cougars defeated defending state champion, St. Paul's High School of Covington, Louisiana, by a score of twenty-to-ten on Sunday, April 29, 2018, at the St. Thomas More Cougar stadium; and

WHEREAS, the Cougars captured their first state championship since 2011 and handed the St. Paul's Wolves their first defeat of the season while repaying a loss to the Wolves earlier in the year; and

WHEREAS, the St. Thomas More team dominated from the opening faceoff of the contest, taking a four to zero lead in the first five minutes of the game, quickly putting St. Paul's on the defensive and sending a strong message regarding the likelihood of the Wolves repeating their earlier win over the Cougars; and

WHEREAS, as the game progressed, the barrage of scoring continued and St. Paul's was unable to match the prolific scoring of the St. Thomas More Cougars, never coming closer than a three point deficit; and

WHEREAS, the Cougar coaches and team strategy for the championship game was to start out strong, hoping to bring the hometown crowd to life early and disrupt the favored St. Paul's Wolves; and

WHEREAS, with a first quarter advantage for the Cougars of six goals to one, the strategy of being aggressive from the beginning paid and the Wolves never led in this game playing the entire contest, struggling from behind, a position that does not lend itself to establishing a rhythm to their play; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana High School Lacrosse League named two Cougars as Most Valuable Player, Mason Duhon on offense with six goals and three assists, and Austin Gauthier on defense with eight ground balls and one goal; and WHEREAS, offensive firepower and defensive plays were spread among thirteen Cougars scoring goals, assisting, and excelling on defense, and they were: Luke Adams with four goals and two assists, Tyler Attales with two assists, Andrew Bayard with an assist, Anthony Benton with an assist, Logan Campbell with fifteen faceoff wins, Michael Furka with one goal, Cade Hernandez with three goals and one assist, Baxter Heggie with one goal, George Hollier with ten saves, Jack Rozas with one goal, and Logan Stinson with three goals and five assists; and

WHEREAS, the winning of a fourth state championship for St. Thomas More might not have been the expected outcome for those outside the Cougar family, but the entire 2018 Cougar lacrosse team proudly brought the state championship back to their school and its storied program, and relished being state champions themselves; and

WHEREAS, the St. Thomas More team is coached by five alumni, all former members of Cougar state championship lacrosse teams: Byrnes Tatford, head coach and class of 2008, and assistant coaches who were all members of the 2011 team; David Escott, Matthew Hindelang, Alex Smith, and Hunter Stinson; and

WHEREAS, with a proud tradition in the sport of lacrosse, the 2018 St. Thomas More Cougar team worked diligently, practiced hard, and played well all season on the road to bringing home the 2018 Louisiana High School Lacrosse League state championship.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend St. Thomas More High School of Lafayette, Louisiana, its team and coaches on winning the Louisiana High School Lacrosse League 2018 state championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Coach Byrnes Tatford on behalf of St. Thomas More High School in Lafayette, Louisiana.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE