SLS 19RS-1423 ORIGINAL

2019 Regular Session

1

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 114

BY SENATOR BARROW

SPECIAL DAY/WEEK/MONTH. Designates May 9, 2019, as Teacher of the Year in Senate District 15 and commends the Teacher of the Year from each school located in Senate District 15.

A RESOLUTION

2	To designate May 9, 2019, as "Teacher of the Year Day" in Senate District 15 and to
3	commend the Teacher of the Year from each school in Senate District 15 for his or
4	her exemplary and dedicated service.
5	WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication,
6	inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity;
7	and
8	WHEREAS, research clearly demonstrates that teachers are paramount to student
9	achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two to three times the impact of any
10	other school factor; and
11	WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created as a means to publicly
12	honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success
13	in school and in life; and
14	WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for the schools
15	located in Senate District 15 are as follows:
16	Carol Anderson, Scotlandville Magnet High School
17	Myra Anderson, Baker Heights Elementary School
18	Lashunda Antoine, Scotlandville Middle Pre-Engineering Academy

1	Anderson Briggs, Glen Oaks Park Elementary School
2	Leagh Ann Carlton, Rollins Place Elementary School
3	Morgan Clinkscales, Ryan Elementary School
4	Shalietha Dunn, White Hills Elementary School
5	Rachel Dupleccis, Baker Heights Elementary School
6	Chante Rice Graham, Baker High School
7	Laura Grubb, Copper Mill Elementary School
8	Brittany Himyard, Sherwood Middle Academic Magnet School
9	Kristen Johnson, Forest Heights Academy of Excellence
10	Valeance Johnson, Sharon Hills Elementary School
11	Theresha Jones, Park Forest Middle School
12	Heather Lynch, Villa del Ray Elementary School
13	Tonia Marin, Northdale Superintendent's Academy
14	Amai Mokeba, Audubon Elementary School
15	Larry Pate, Glen Oaks Magnet High School
16	Christanne Ricard, Brownfields Elementary School
17	Katherine Risbon, Greenbrier Elementary School
18	Kristan Robair, Broadmoor Middle School
19	Ohathreona Simon, Park Forest Elementary School
20	Laura Spurgeon, Twin Oaks Elementary School
21	Lauri Taylor, La Belle Aire Elementary School
22	Javon Tollard, Belaire High School
23	Stephen Voss, Brookstown Middle School
24	Ebony Williams, Northeast Elementary School
25	Lillie Williams, Progress Elementary School
26	Jamie Woolfolk, Merrydale Elementary School; and
27	WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their
28	students, their colleagues, and their communities.
29	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
30	does hereby designate May 9, 2019, as "Teacher of the Year Day" in Senate District 15 and

SLS 19RS-1423
ORIGINAL
SR NO. 114

does also hereby sincerely commend the Teacher of the Year from each school in Senate

- 2 District 15 for his or her exemplary and dedicated service.
- 3 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each
- 4 Teacher of the Year recognized herein.

SR 114 Original

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Ann S. Brown.

DIGEST 2019 Regular Session

Barrow

Designates May 9, 2019, as Teacher of the Year Day in Senate District 15 and commends the Teacher of the Year from each school in Senate District 15 for his or her exemplary and dedicated service.