SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 114

BY SENATOR BARROW

## A RESOLUTION

To designate May 9, 2019, as "Teacher of the Year Day" in Senate District 15 and to commend the Teacher of the Year from each school in Senate District 15 for his or her exemplary and dedicated service.

WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication, inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity; and

WHEREAS, research clearly demonstrates that teachers are paramount to student achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two to three times the impact of any other school factor; and

WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created as a means to publicly honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success in school and in life; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for the schools located in Senate District 15 are as follows:

Carol Anderson, Scotlandville Magnet High School

Myra Anderson, Baker Heights Elementary School

Lashunda Antoine, Scotlandville Middle Pre-Engineering Academy

Anderson Briggs, Glen Oaks Park Elementary School

Leagh Ann Carlton, Rollins Place Elementary School

Morgan Clinkscales, Ryan Elementary School

Shalietha Dunn, White Hills Elementary School

Rachel Dupleccis, Baker Heights Elementary School

Chante Rice Graham, Baker High School

Laura Grubb, Copper Mill Elementary School

Brittany Himyard, Sherwood Middle Academic Magnet School

SR NO. 114 <u>ENROLLED</u>

Kristen Johnson, Forest Heights Academy of Excellence

Valeance Johnson, Sharon Hills Elementary School

Theresha Jones, Park Forest Middle School

Heather Lynch, Villa del Ray Elementary School

Tonia Marin, Northdale Superintendent's Academy

Amai Mokeba, Audubon Elementary School

Larry Pate, Glen Oaks Magnet High School

Christanne Ricard, Brownfields Elementary School

Katherine Risbon, Greenbrier Elementary School

Kristan Robair, Broadmoor Middle School

Ohathreona Simon, Park Forest Elementary School

Laura Spurgeon, Twin Oaks Elementary School

Lauri Taylor, La Belle Aire Elementary School

Javon Tollard, Belaire High School

Stephen Voss, Brookstown Middle School

Ebony Williams, Northeast Elementary School

Lillie Williams, Progress Elementary School

Jamie Woolfolk, Merrydale Elementary School; and

WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their students, their colleagues, and their communities.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby designate May 9, 2019, as "Teacher of the Year Day" in Senate District 15 and does also hereby sincerely commend the Teacher of the Year from each school in Senate District 15 for his or her exemplary and dedicated service.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each Teacher of the Year recognized herein.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE