SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 172

BY SENATOR LUNEAU

A RESOLUTION

To designate Wednesday, May 22, 2019, as Louisiana Housing Council Day at the state capitol and to commend the Louisiana Housing Council for its accomplishments. WHEREAS, the Louisiana Housing Council, or LHC, is composed of over two

hundred public housing entities that are subdivided into six regions across the state; and

WHEREAS, the LHC promotes and advances the provision of affordable housing to approximately seventeen thousand low-income residents, of which more than one-fourth are elderly and handicapped; and

WHEREAS, many of the LHC's member agencies provide a number of services related to housing, including job training, home ownership assistance, protective services, child care, educational assistance, and youth services; and

WHEREAS, the LHC strives to create stronger and more dynamic communities and works with other local agencies to enhance the quality of life for citizens throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, the LHC awards scholarships to high school students based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities, family need, and community involvement; and

WHEREAS, with the presentation of the Phillip W. Miller awards, the LHC honors the achievements of its outstanding members who promote excellence in housing administration with exemplary leadership, high ethical standards, and exceptional management skills; and

WHEREAS, the LHC constantly strives to provide decent, safe, and sanitary housing, and in so doing, reduce crime, improve health outcomes, and renovate blighted property, thereby benefitting society as a whole.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby designate Wednesday, May 22, 2019, as Louisiana Housing Council Day at the Legislature of Louisiana and does hereby commend the Louisiana Housing Council for its outstanding accomplishments.

SR NO. 172

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Pamela Fontenot, president of the Louisiana Housing Council.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE