HLS 19RS-3317 **ORIGINAL** 

2019 Regular Session

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 266

BY REPRESENTATIVE STEFANSKI

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Notre Dame High School football team on winning the 2018 Division III state championship

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend the Notre Dame High School football team upon winning the 2018 Louisiana
3	High School Athletic Association Division III state championship.
4	WHEREAS, on Thursday, December 6, 2018, the Notre Dame High School football
5	Pioneers completed a sensational season by capturing the Louisiana High School Athletic
6	Association Division III state championship against Catholic High School New Iberia by a
7	final, doubled score of 42-21; and
8	WHEREAS, the Pioneers allowed their opponents a touchdown on the first play from
9	scrimmage but quickly settled into their season-winning form, scored twenty-eight
10	consecutive points, and never allowed their opponents any closer than fourteen points
11	through the rest of the game; and
12	WHEREAS, the state championship win was the culmination for the Notre Dame
13	Pioneers of a perfect 13-0 overall season and 4-0 in district play; senior running back Noah
14	Bourgeois was named the game's Most Valuable Player and scored in each of the final two
15	quarters; he finished with three touchdowns, 23 carries for 162 yards, and he caught a 28-
16	yard touchdown pass; and
17	WHEREAS, the accomplishments of this team could not have been achieved without
18	the unwavering dedication, support, guidance, and skill of the Pioneers head coach, Lewis
19	Cook; his assistant coaches, Ben Boulet, Jud Broussard, Lew Cook, Dusty Collette, Trey
20	Cormier, Todd Gray, Chris Hauerwas, Wes Jacob, Joe Oliver LaPrairie, Kevin Magee,
21	Jimmy McCleary, Tim Miguez, and Chris Stevens; trainer, Jim Dorotics; senior student

1	trainers, Macey Doucet, Jeanne Claire Gossen, Gabrielle Manuel, Katherine Skelton, and
2	Emma Smith; junior trainers Isabelle Hanks, Darcy Lavergne, Hailey LeBlanc, and Allie
3	Nork; sophomore trainers Lauren Comeaux and Morgan Meche; and freshmen trainers Mary
4	Katherine Albritton, Mary Grace Burleigh, Charlotte Doucet, Anna Guinn, Graycie Hollier,
5	Lily Miller, Jillian Moody, and Madeline Oliver; the administrative staff of Notre Dame
6	High School, Principal Cindy Istre and Assistant Principal Nolan Theriot; and filmer Albert
7	John; and
8	WHEREAS, each student athlete who represented Notre Dame High School on the
9	football field in the 2018 season is worthy of mention: seniors Hayden Adams, Thomas
10	Bellard, Caden Benoit, Kane Bergeron, Noah Bourgeois, John Brown, Stephen Cormier,
11	Jacob Dore, Gabe Doucet, Steven Gossen, Christian Guinn, Dennis Hensgens, Paul Hundley,
12	Ethan Keller, John William Lamm, Kaizer Lamm, Cody Leblanc, Bailey Leonards, Zeke
13	Petitjean, Alec Prevost, Alex Roy, Zachary Satchell, Luke Valdetero; juniors Nyles Billy,
14	Ben Broussard, James Cramer, Michael Dore, Jack Faulk, Bryan Francis, Drew Fruge,
15	Daniel Gielen, Barrett Harrington, Zac Higginbotham, Hayden Istre, Gabe Link, Kane Link,
16	Brother Martin, Dylan McCleary, Ethan McCleary, Gabe Menard, Jack Nugier, Joe
17	Pommier, Ben Robichaux, Peyton Smith, Brant Theunissen, C.J. Thibodeaux, Walton
18	Thibodeaux, Tylan Turner, Jacob Vice, Blain Zaunbrecher; sophomores Joseph Brown,
19	Lance Castille, Tyler Cates, Nick Gautreaux, Boyd Gray, G. Hebert, Hunter Hoffpauir, Luke
20	LeBlanc, Josh LeJeune, Gabe Leonards, Parker Link, Peyton Maloz, Ethan Menard, Peyton
21	Menard, Austin Miller, Collin Reiners, Tyler Richard, Sebastain Roche, Austin Roy, Parker
22	Seilhan, Blake Smith, Matthew Taylor, Dominic Thibodeaux, William Vice, Connor Walker,
23	Dustin Zaunbrecher; and freshmen Matt Bernard, Karson Broussard, Garrison Gautreaux,
24	Luke Hoffpauir, Isiah McCrory, Adam Reiners, Lucas Simon, Alex Stevens, Nicholas
25	Swacker; and
26	WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the well-deserved title the Pioneers have
27	earned; to commend the team for the ability it has displayed, particularly at the most difficult
28	level of competition; and to express sincere and heartfelt congratulations to the team
29	members and coaching staff for the merits earned and the sportsmanship shown while
30	achieving the highest state boys' football honor possible for Notre Dame School.

1 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the

- 2 Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Notre Dame High
- 3 School football team upon winning the 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association
- 4 Division III state championship; does hereby record for posterity this exceptional team's
- 5 triumph in the sport of football; and does hereby extend best wishes to the players, coaches,
- 6 and all others involved in the football program as they celebrate their championship season
  - and prepare for continued athletic success and life accomplishments in the future.
- 8 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head
- 9 Coach Lewis Cook.

7

## **DIGEST**

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 266 Original

2019 Regular Session

Stefanski

Commends the Notre Dame School football team on winning the 2018 LHSAA Division III state championship.