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Proposed law provides for background checks for nonlicensed students and trainees applying for enrollment in a clinical
preceptor training program authorized by the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) or a nurse aid
training program approved by the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH).

Proposed law authorizes educational institutions and approved training programs to use the office of state police or an
authorized agency to request a criminal history and national sex offender registry check on student and trainee applicants.

Proposed law requires the educational institution or approved training program to pay the fee associated with the
background check.

EXPENDITURES 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

Agy. Self-Gen. INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

/Annual Total

REVENUES 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE

Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

There will be an indeterminable increase in expenditures for public postsecondary institutions and high schools that offer
clinical preceptor training programs or nurse aide training programs related to the requirement for educational institutions
and approved training programs to pay the background check fees. Additionally, there will be a workload increase for
postsecondary institutions and high schools related to the request for background checks. This workload increase may be
absorbed utilizing existing staff, dependent upon the availability of existing resources and level of enrollment in affected
programs, and is indeterminable at this time.

LDH administrative rules require any student or trainee enrolling in a clinical preceptor training program or nurse aid training
program to have a background check performed prior to enrolling in an approved program. These programs are licensed by
LDH and include postsecondary institutions, high schools, nursing homes, and proprietary programs. Currently, educational
institutions and approved programs do not have authority to run a background check on applicants, so applicants must
request individual background checks under the Right to Review. The minimum cost for a background check is $36 ($10
fingerprint and $26 background check) if performed through state police, however there may be additional costs if
fingerprints are obtained through another authorized entity, such as a sheriff’s office.

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION CONTINUED ON PAGE 2

REVENUE EXPLANATION

There will be an indeterminable decrease in revenue from the statutorily dedicated Criminal Identification and Information
Fund for the Office of State Police (LSP). Fingerprints are not required to perform a name-based background check, and LSP
will no longer collect the $10 fee for fingerprinting.
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EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1

Proposed law authorizes educational institutions and approved programs to perform a name based background check
through state police or an authorized agency on applicants prior to acceptance into an approved program. The cost for the
name based background check through state police is $26, but costs to perform the name based background check through
an authorized agency are likely higher. Furthermore, fingerprints may still be required in cases where information in the
background check requires verification. Because neither LDH nor the educational institutions have data specific to the
number of applicants and since the cost of a background check may vary, the total expenditure increase is indeterminable.
However, expenditures for each of these approved programs will increase by at least $26 per applicant. For postsecondary
institutions these expenditures will be a combination of SGF and SGR, and for high schools these expenditures will be local
funds. Locals may assess fees to recoup costs for the background checks. However, the bill does not authorize
postsecondary institutions to charge a fee for the background checks; therefore it is unclear whether or not they will have
the authority to recoup these costs from applicants.

For informational purposes, LCTCS reports approximately 500 students completed a certified nurse aid training program for
the 2017-2018 academic year. Each of these completers required a background check; however, there may have been
additional applicants for which a background check was performed but who never completed the program. Based on this
information, LCTCS institutions would have expended at least $13,000 (500 students * $26 per background check).

LDH does not track the number of enrollees in the various high school, nursing home, and proprietary programs; therefore
the impact is indeterminable.
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