The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Thomas L. Tyler.

DIGEST 2020 Regular Session

Smith

<u>Present law</u> provides that the Louisiana State Racing Commission shall be composed of 13 members appointed by the governor.

<u>Present law</u> prohibits any member of the Louisiana State Racing Commission from being an official, member of any board of directors, or person financially interested in any race track or race meeting licensed by the commission. Prohibits any member from directly or indirectly owning racehorses which participate in any race meeting licensed by the commission.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains this prohibition but provides an exception that three members of the commission be affiliated with the horse racing industry.

Effective August 1, 2020.

SB 120 Original

(Amends R.S. 4:144(B))