RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 235 (SB 212) 2020 Regular Session

Cathey

<u>Prior law</u> (R.S. 3:3403) created the Louisiana Agricultural Commodities Commission within the Department of Agriculture and Forestry consisting of nine members appointed by the commissioner as follows:

- (1) One warehouseman appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the Rice Millers Association.
- (2) One producer appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the La. Soybean Association.
- (3) One producer appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the La. Farm Bureau Federation.
- (4) One banker who is familiar with the financing of businesses which store or market the commodities which are regulated under <u>prior law</u>, appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the La. Bankers Association.
- (5) One commodity trader who executes future trades related to a hedging program for purchases or sales of commodities regulated under <u>prior law</u>, appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the commissioner.
- (6) One owner or operator of an elevator which handles both rice and soybeans, appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the La. Rice Dryers Association.
- (7) One owner or operator of an inland elevator or barge-loading river facility or a licensed Louisiana grain dealer appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the La. Ag Industries Association.
- (8) One producer appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the American Rice Growers Association.
- (9) One cotton merchant appointed from the state at large.

<u>New law</u> changes the nominating authority for the producer appointed <u>from</u> a list of three persons nominated by the La. Soybean Association <u>to</u> a list of three persons nominated by the La. Cotton and Grain Association and otherwise retains <u>prior law</u>.

Effective upon signature of the governor (June 11, 2020).

(Amends R.S. 3:3403(A)(2))