RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 166 (HB 53) 2020 Regular Session Jefferson

<u>Existing law</u> provides for three district court judges in the Second Judicial District Court to be elected from the district at large for six-year terms. <u>Prior law</u> provided for residency requirements.

<u>New law</u> eliminates the requirement that the judge who presides over Division "A" be a resident of Claiborne Parish, that the judge who presides over Division "B" be a resident of Jackson Parish, and that the judge who presides over Division "C" be a resident of Bienville Parish.

<u>New law</u> retains the uncodified provision of <u>existing law</u> with regard to the composition of the Second Judicial District. <u>New law</u> provides that Division A shall be located in Claiborne Parish, Division B shall be located in Jackson Parish, and Division C shall be located in Bienville Parish.

<u>New law</u> requires the judge elected to serve in the Second Judicial District to reside within the district, but <u>new law</u> does not require that the judge elected to serve reside within the parish where the division is located.

Effective upon signature of governor (June 11, 2020).

(Amends R.S. 13:621.2; Repeals Act No. 669 of the 1999 R.S.)