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Provides for the resale of catalytic converters

Present law requires buyers of certain scrap metals to obtain a signed statement from the seller attesting that the property
is not stolen.

Proposed law requires that persons selling catalytic converters additionally provide documents of the origin or pay a $500
fee that shall be deposited into the state general fund.

EXPENDITURES 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
REVENUES 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW

Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
/Annual Total

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION
There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure.

REVENUE EXPLANATION
There may be an increase in state revenue as a result of this measure; however, it is likely to be minimal. Proposed law

would require sellers of catalytic converters to provide proof of origin or pay a $500 fee that would be deposited into the
state general fund. The purpose of this measure is to deter the theft of catalytic converters. According to the National
Insurance Crime Bureau, 2020 saw a monthly average of 1,200 catalytic converters being stolen nationwide. There is no
comprehensive data on how often catalytic converters were stolen in Louisiana or how many catalytic converters were
recycled in Louisiana in the past year.

Catalytic converters are valuable because of the precious metals (platinum, palladium, and rhodium) located on the inside of
the converter. Research shows that most catalytic converters are sold to recyclers for $50 - $500 with some online and
black-market buyers offering up to $1,000 for high-end catalytic converters.

There are currently at least 21 states (excluding Louisiana) that are considering or have legislation that attempts to deter
the theft of catalytic converters -- Arkansas, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, New Mexico, New
York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and West
Virginia. Restrictions on the recycling of catalytic converters range from providing an affidavit indicating the converter was
not stolen, to keeping exact records and pictures of buyers, sellers, or catalytic converter VINs or stock number, to strict
limitations on who can purchase (licenses and permits) and who can sell catalytic converters to recyclers (strictly commercial
sellers).
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