### 2021 Regular Session

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 67

### BY REPRESENTATIVES FREEMAN, BUTLER, FIRMENT, FONTENOT, FREIBERG, GADBERRY, GAROFALO, HILFERTY, GREGORY MILLER, MINCEY, THOMPSON, WILLARD, AND WRIGHT

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the winners of Teacher of the Year in Louisiana

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the winners of Teacher of the Year in Louisiana.
3	WHEREAS, in partnership with Dream Teachers, the Louisiana Department of
4	Education annually recognizes and celebrates some of the state's most exceptional educators
5	through the Teacher of the Year programs; and
6	WHEREAS, school systems from all across the state submitted nominations to the
7	state-level Teacher of the Year process; and
8	WHEREAS, on September 20, 2020, the Louisiana Department of Education
9	announced the 2021 Louisiana Teacher of the Year at the 14th annual Cecil J. Picard
10	Educator Awards Gala, which was held virtually; and
11	WHEREAS, all Teacher of the Year finalists were celebrated and honored at the
12	awards gala; and
13	WHEREAS, Natalie Roy of Glasgow Middle School in East Baton Rouge Parish was
14	named the 2021 State Teacher of the Year; and
15	WHEREAS, Ms. Roy teaches Roman technology, classical mythology, and Latin,
16	and her classes feature interactive lessons about the ancient Romans and Greeks infused with
17	STEM, a unique curricular idea that has afforded her many grant opportunities; and
18	WHEREAS, although most of Ms. Roy's students had never been exposed to
19	classical mythology, under her instruction, 63% of students at Approaching Basic or Basic

## HLS 21RS-2191

1	rose to 89% at Mastery or Advanced, and her Latin students went from 60% at Approaching
2	Basic or Basic to 100% at Mastery or Advanced; and
3	WHEREAS, in addition to announcing the overall state winners, the Department of
4	Education also named the 2021 State Elementary, Middle, and High School Teacher of the
5	Year winners; and
6	WHEREAS, the 2021 Elementary School Teacher of the Year is Angelle Bourgeois
7	of Allemands Elementary School in St. Charles Parish; and
8	WHEREAS, the 2021 Middle School Teacher of the Year is Trinette Wallace of
9	West Thibodaux Middle School in Lafourche Parish; and
10	WHEREAS, the 2021 High School Teacher of the Year is Kate Youngblood of
11	Benjamin Franklin High School in Orleans Parish; and
12	WHEREAS, the previous year, on July 19th, the Louisiana Department of Education
13	announced the 2020 Teacher of the Year at the 13th annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Awards
14	Gala; and
15	WHEREAS, Christopher Mark Dier was awarded Teacher of the Year for 2020; Mr.
16	Dier teaches World History and AP Human Geography at Chalmette High School in St.
17	Bernard Parish; and
18	WHEREAS, Mr. Dier has been voted Teacher of the Year at St. Bernard Middle
19	School and Chalmette High School and was also voted Teacher of the Year and parishwide
20	Teacher of the Year while at Chalmette High; and
21	WHEREAS, the 2020 Elementary School Teacher of the Year was Jessica Borland
22	of South Grant Elementary School in Grant Parish; and
23	WHEREAS, the 2020 Middle School Teacher of the Year was Lisa Celestine Jack
24	of Vidrine Elementary School in Evangeline Parish; and
25	WHEREAS, the 2020 High School Teacher of the Year was Emily Ogden of
26	Rayville High School in Richland Parish; and
27	WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper to honor these gifted teachers who strive for
28	excellence in the classroom.
29	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the
30	Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the winners of the Teacher of the Year in

- 1 Louisiana and hereby extends sincere gratitude to these teachers for their tireless efforts to
- 2 teach the youth of the great state of Louisiana.

# DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 67 Original

2021 Regular Session

Freeman

Commends the winners of Teacher of the Year in Louisiana.