2021 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 64

BY REPRESENTATIVE ROBERT OWEN

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Pope John Paul II High School boys' soccer team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2021 Division IV state championship.

WHEREAS, on Wednesday, February 24, 2021, the top-seeded Pope John Paul II Jaguars boys' soccer team defeated the sixth-seeded Episcopal High School of Baton Rouge by a score of 2-1 at Southeastern Louisiana University's Strawberry Stadium to complete a historic championship season; and

WHEREAS, senior Michael Tymkiw and junior Shawn Riviere both contributed a goal in their team's winning effort; and

WHEREAS, junior Lincoln Oertling was named the Most Valuable Player of the championship game; and

WHEREAS, the Jaguars finished the season with a record of 18-4-2; over the course of the season, the team scored forty-four goals, allowed sixteen goals, and shut out opponents on thirteen separate occasions; and

WHEREAS, the victory marked the first state title for boys' soccer in Pope John Paul II High School's forty-one-year history; and

WHEREAS, the 2021 state championship season for Pope John Paul II comes on the heels of the team's impressive runner-up performance in the Premier Orange Division of the COPA Acadiana Tournament; throughout the season, the team faced a number of first-class soccer programs from much larger, in-state schools such as Mandeville High School, St. Louis Catholic, E.D. White, and many more; and WHEREAS, the Jaguars were led by team captains Michael Tymkiw, Lincoln Oertling, and Nicholas Barone; other contributing members of the team include seniors Elliz Ortiz, Adam Lisotta, Joseph Estopinal, and Christopher Kelley; juniors Shawn Riviere, Brendan Kuzminski, George Arata, Jack Everard, Patrick Whitehouse, Will Adams, Wilson Varnado, Joey Hosni, and Nathan Baker; sophomores Henley Oertling, Mikey Uwaifo, Jacob Mire, and Nicholas Blum; freshman Allen Raimer, Joseph Whitehouse, Landon Lott, Henry Dutriex; and eighth graders Christian Mire, Carter Chiasson, Preston Mayeaux, Julian Masson, and Adam Merkle; and

WHEREAS, team manager Miguel Silva also played an integral role in the success of the Jaguars' championship season; and

WHEREAS, the Jaguars were coached by Danny Clavier, who is in his tenth season as head coach of the Pope John Paul II boys' soccer program; Coach Clavier earned his onehundredth career victory this season and was named the All-District Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, in addition to the Jaguars' outstanding achievements on the field, the team was awarded the Team Academic Award by the United Soccer Coaches Association for maintaining a team grade-point average of 3.35; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Pope John Paul II High School boys' soccer team are most deserving of recognition for the outstanding championship season.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Pope John Paul II High School boys' soccer team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2021 Division IV state championship; does hereby recognize the members of the team for their inspiring accomplishments on and off the field; and does hereby extend sincere hopes that the players, coaches, trainers, and supporters of the Pope John Paul II High School boys' soccer team prosper in their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the principal of Pope John Paul II High School.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES