2021 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 129

BY REPRESENTATIVES DEVILLIER, BACALA, BAGLEY, BEAULLIEU, CARRIER, CREWS, ECHOLS, EDMONSTON, EMERSON, FARNUM, FREIBERG, GLOVER, HORTON, HUVAL, JENKINS, MCCORMICK, PHELPS, PRESSLY, RISER, ROMERO, SCHEXNAYDER, SEABAUGH, STEFANSKI, AND TARVER AND SENATOR CLOUD

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Louisiana State University at Eunice baseball team on winning the National Junior College Athletic Association 2021 Division II National Championship

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Louisiana State University at Eunice baseball team on winning the
3	National Junior College Athletic Association 2021 Division II National
4	Championship.
5	WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University at Eunice Bengals baseball team defeated
6	Western Oklahoma State, 5-4, in a thrilling fourteen-inning contest to capture the program's
7	seventh NJCAA Division II National Championship; and
8	WHEREAS, Jack Merrifield led the LSUE offense with four hits and two runs
9	scored; Peyton LeJeune and Jarrett McDonald also contributed with multiple hits to the
10	team's twelve-hit night; and
11	WHEREAS, the Bengals earned numerous individual honors for their inspiring
12	performance throughout the tournament; Jerry Couch was named the Most Outstanding
13	Pitcher and Peyton LeJeune was named Most Outstanding Player; Jack Merrifield and
14	Hunter Tabb joined their teammates on the All-Tournament Team as well; and
15	WHEREAS, the marathon match was a winner-take-all in the best-of-three series,
16	and the victory gave the Bengals a final record of fifty-one wins and seven losses; and

1

2

3

WHEREAS, LSUE Head Coach Jeff Willis is no stranger to this level of success as he is responsible for leading the Bengals' baseball program to each of its seven national titles; and

4 WHEREAS, the members of the Louisiana State University at Eunice NJCAA 2021 Division II National Champion baseball team are Christian Gonzales, Kole Myers, Jarrett 5 6 McDonald, Jack Merrifield, Jerry Couch, Scott Jones, Bryce LaRocca, Ayden Makarus, Beau Kirsch, Jacob Hammond, Noah Beason, Thomas Stevens, Austin Andrishok, Luke 7 8 McGibboney, Hunter Tabb, Brady Hebert, Carter Quinn, Jase McDonald, Cade Hart, Cole 9 Romero, Jackson Rodriguez, Peyton LeJeune, Thomas Papadopoulos, Brock Barthelemy, 10 Jackson Fraser, Dalton Burrell, Austyn Benoit, Miles Clack, Darian Richard, Bryson 11 Connell, Brendan Moody, Drew Lasseigne, Michael Fontenot, Dylan Beier, Taegan 12 Bourque, Brandon Mooney, Johnny Robinson, and Gabe Spedale; and

WHEREAS, the coaching staff includes Head Coach Jeff Willis and assistant
coaches Alan Orgain, Roberto Vaz, Paige Hodges, and Michael Poole; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University at Eunice baseball team is mostdeserving of recognition for their incredible championship season.

17 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby 18 commend the Louisiana State University at Eunice baseball team on winning the National 19 Junior College Athletic Association 2021 Division II National Championship; does hereby 20 recognize the Louisiana State University at Eunice baseball program for its historic success 21 and place among the premier baseball programs in the country; and does hereby extend

- sincere hopes for the team's continued success.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transferred to the
 chancellor of Louisiana State University at Eunice.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

DeVillier

Commends the La. State University at Eunice baseball team on winning the National Junior College Athletic Assoc. 2021 Division II National Championship.