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CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT DIGEST

HB 640 2021 Regular Session Schexnayder

Keyword and oneliner of the instrument as it left the House

AGRICULTURAL COMMODITIES:  Provides relative to industrial hemp

Report adopts Senate amendments to:

1. Make technical changes.

Report rejects Senate amendments which would have:

1. Authorized the University of Louisiana at Monroe Agribusiness Program to cultivate, handle,
and process industrial hemp and industrial hemp seeds for research and development of new
varieties.

2. Made technical changes.

Report amends the bill to:

1. Authorize the University of Louisiana at Monroe Agribusiness Program to cultivate, handle,
and process industrial hemp for product research and development.

2. Exempt the University of Louisiana at Monroe Agribusiness Program from industrial hemp
licensure requirements.

3. Make technical changes.

Digest of the bill as proposed by the Conference Committee

Present law authorizes industrial hemp grower licensees to cultivate, handle, and transport industrial
hemp in the state.

Proposed law removes "handle", otherwise maintains present law, and further authorizes licensees
to possess, store, trim, dry, and cure industrial hemp.



Present law provides for registration and label requirements for commercial feed.

Proposed law exempts commercial feed manufactured and registered pursuant to consumable hemp
regulations.

Present law requires licensure of contract carriers.  Proposed law removes that requirement and
creates a handler license.

Proposed law extends the timeframe to harvest approved industrial hemp from 15 days to 30 days.

Present law authorizes the La. Dept. of Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) to detain, seize, destroy,
or embargo any industrial hemp crop or product that exceeds the federally defined THC level for
hemp.

Proposed law repeals present law.

Present law exempts the LSU Ag Center, the Southern University Ag Center, and the University of
Louisiana at Monroe (ULM) College of Pharmacy from industrial hemp licensure requirements for
the purpose of research and development.

Proposed law adds the ULM Agribusiness Program to present law.

Proposed law authorizes the University of La. at Monroe Agribusiness Program to cultivate, handle,
and process industrial hemp for product research and development.

Proposed law requires all industrial hemp licensees whose intent is to perform research, except the
universities exempted in present law, to submit an annual research plan to the LDAF.  Further
requires LDAF to adopt rules for performance based-sampling for those licensees.

Proposed law requires the LSU AgCenter to develop a centralized industrial hemp website in
collaboration with regulatory agencies and stakeholders.

Proposed law changes "industrial hemp-derived CBD product" to "consumable hemp product" and
provides that consumable hemp products are any industrial hemp-derived products that contain any
cannabinoid, including CBD.  Further provides that consumable hemp product includes commercial
feed, pet products, and hemp floral material.

Proposed law requires that present law and proposed law dealing with consumable hemp products
are preempted by any federal statute, federal regulation, or guidance from a federal government
agency that is less restrictive than state law.

Proposed law establishes a consumable hemp processor license issued by the La. Dept. of Health
(LDH) and establishes a fee schedule for the license.

Proposed law creates criminal penalties of not less than one year nor more than 20 years



imprisonment at hard labor and a fine of not more than $50,000 for processing consumable hemp
products without a license.

Present law prohibits processing or selling any part of hemp for inhalation, except hemp rolling
papers.

Proposed law removes the prohibition on processing hemp for inhalation.

Present law prohibits processing or selling any food or beverage containing CBD unless the FDA
approves CBD as a food additive.  Proposed law removes that prohibition.

Present law prohibits any CBD products that contain any active pharmaceutical ingredient other than
cannabidiol.  Proposed law exempts products intended for topical application from the prohibition.

Proposed law provides that consumable hemp products cannot contain a total delta-9 THC
concentration of more than 0.3% nor a total THC concentration of more than 1% on a dry weight
basis.

Proposed law prohibits consumable hemp products from containing any cannabinoid that is not
naturally occurring.

Proposed law defines THC as a combination of tetrahydrocannabinol and tetrahydrocannabinolic
acid.

Proposed law requires any floral hemp material to be contained in tamper-evident packaging and not
be labeled or marketed for inhalation.

Proposed law provides that any facility processing hemp products for human consumption outside
of the scope of the definition of consumable hemp product will be regulated by the LDH in
accordance with the State Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Law.

Proposed law establishes a wholesaler license for consumable hemp products issued by the office
of alcohol and tobacco control (ATC).

Proposed law establishes a wholesaler license fee not to exceed $500.

Present law imposes civil fines for selling hemp-derived CBD products at retail without a permit.

Proposed law expands the violations that the civil penalties can be imposed. Further provides that
each day a violation occurs is a separate offense.

Proposed law requires ATC to investigate any report of a violation of a provision of present law as
related to consumable hemp products and report any criminal violation to the appropriate law
enforcement agency.



Present law provides for an industrial hemp-derived CBD excise tax.

Proposed law changes the taxable product to consumable hemp products.

(Amends R.S. 3:1402, 1461, 1462, 1464(8), 1465(A), (C)(1), (D)(1), and (F), 1466(A) and (B)(2),
1468, 1471(A)(4), 1481, 1482, 1483, 1484, and 1485(B) and (G) and R.S. 47:1692 and 1693(A);
Adds R.S. 3:1469(C) and (D) and 1473)


