The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the
legislative instrument, were prepared by Michael Bell.

DIGEST
SB 365 Original 2022 Regular Session Barrow

Proposed law creates the State Domestic Violence Offender Registry.
Proposed law provides for definitions.

Proposed law requires the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information to develop
and maintain a central registry which will contain the information transmitted to the bureau pursuant
to the provisions of proposed law.

Proposed law requires the offender to provide personal information within 21 days of the date of
conviction, if the offender is not taken into custody at the time of conviction, or within 21 days of
the date of release from confinement or within 21 days of establishing residency in the locale where
the offender plans to have his domicile.

Proposed law provides for offenders to notify the bureau of changes of address and residence within
30 days of the change.

Proposed law requires an offender who fails to register, periodically renew and update registration,
provide proof of residence or notification of change of address or other registration information, to
be fined not more than $1,000, imprisoned for not more than six months, or both.

Proposed law requires an offender to register and comply with the requirements of proposed law for
10 years for a first offense and for the duration of the lifetime of the offender for a second or
subsequent offense, unless the underlying conviction is reversed, set aside, or vacated.

Proposed law requires any person who has been convicted or adjudicated of an offense under the
laws of another state, or military, territorial, foreign, tribal, or federal law for which proposed law
mandates registration, must be subject to and has to comply with the registration requirements within
three business days of establishing a residence in Louisiana.

Effective August 1, 2022.

(Adds R.S. 15:563-563.7)



