SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 82

BY SENATOR MCMATH

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Archbishop Hannan High School boys basketball team upon winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association's (LHSAA) Boys Basketball Division II State Championship on Saturday, March 5, 2022.

WHEREAS, on Saturday, March 5, 2022, the Hannan's boys basketball team played Liberty Magnet High School at the Cajundome in Lafayette; and

WHEREAS, it was the Hannan Hawks boys basketball team first appearance in a state final and they were considered underdogs; and

WHEREAS, the Hawks shot 81 percent (27-33) for the game and finished 5/7 from the three point line; and

WHEREAS, freshman Drew Timmons was named Most Outstanding Player with 31 points, 7 rebounds, and 3 assists; and

WHEREAS, Semajai McClendan and Luke Timmons scored a pair of layups before Kareem Johnson made a three-point shot giving Hannan an early 18-2 lead; and

WHEREAS, the Hannan Hawks defeated top-seeded Liberty 81-60; and

WHEREAS, Archbishop Hannan High School boys basketball team brings home the Hannan Hawks first state basketball championship with this historic win.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Archbishop Hannan High School boys basketball team of Covington, Louisiana, upon winning their first basketball state championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Hannan Hawks Grant Kemp, Preston Richardson, Luke Timmons, Semajai McClendan, Grant Sweeney, Drew Timmons, Anderson Schof, Zack Lauro, Ryan McDougal, Hayden Alonzo, Kareem Johnson, David Chimento Jr., Jordan Froeba as well as Ethan Barre, Henry Boudreaux, Bryce Daniels, Cooper Duhon, Jacob Hollingsworth, Brenton Gordon, Trey Knight, Noah Morreale, Brennan Obey, Sean Parker, Nickolas Penn, Aiden Roy, and Anthony Thomson. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Head Coach Errol Gauff, Assistant Coach Dale Chimento, Assistant Coach David Chimento, Athletic Director Michael Perniciaro, Head of School Chad Barwick, Associate Head of School Nancy Baird, Dean of Students Joseph Hines, Patrick Kennedy, Xavier Brown, and Braden Schultz.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Coach Errol Gauff of Archbishop Hannan High School.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE