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Present law prohibits the carrying of a concealed firearm; provides for criminal penalties; and provides for certain exceptions to the
offense. Also, present law provides an exception for Louisiana residents who meet certain eligibility requirements may apply for and be
issued a concealed handgun permit and requires the person to possess a valid concealed handgun permit in order to carry a concealed
handgun in the state. Proposed law creates an additional exception for Louisiana residents who meet certain eligibility requirements to
possess a concealed firearm without a concealed handgun permit as follows: (1) a reserve or active-duty member of any branch of the U.
S. Armed Forces with a honorable discharge; (2) a reserve or active-duty member of the LA National Guard or the LA Air National Guard
with a honorable discharge; or (3) a former honorable discharged member of any branch of the U.S. Armed Forces, the LA National Guard,
or the LA Air National Guard. Proposed law provide proof as follows: (1) valid military ID card, (2) driver’s license or ID card with
“Veteran”, or (3) Dept. of Defense Form 214 (DD-214). Proposed law prohibits possessing a firearm while under the influence of alcohol
or a controlled dangerous substance. Proposed law requires State Police to create a 60-minute online education course at no cost that
includes specific topics and maintain an online searchable database of firearm instructors. Proposed law effective 8/01/2022.

Proposed law is estimated to increase state expenditures by at least $20,290 (assumed to be SGF) in the Office of State Police within the
Department of Public Safety (DPS) for programming changes to the Concealed Handgun system and an indeterminable amount to develop
a 60-minute education course as well as increase by an indeterminable amount to maintain a searchable database of licensed handgun
and firearm instructors. While proposed law does not otherwise directly impact state or local governmental expenditures, it does eliminate
Statutorily Dedicated revenues out of the Concealed Handgun Permit Fund used to support certain functions within the Department of
Public Safety, Office of State Police ($4.1 M based on actual expenditures in FY 20), Local Funds used to support public defender offices,
and other various SGR and Local Funds used to support courts, crime labs, etc. The total loss of revenues to support these expenditures is
indeterminable (see Revenue Explanation).

The proposed law will require modifications to the State Police Concealed Handgun system. DPS indicates the proposed law may require
approximately 250 hours of overtime for the Information Services Section at an average cost of $80 per hour ($80 x 250 = $20,000) plus
associated Medicare expenses ($20,000 x 1.45% = $290), or a total of $20,290. To develop the 60-minute online course, the department
reports an indeterminable one-time expenditure for video production costs.

Public Safety, State Police - Proposed law is estimated to decrease revenue by $20,625 in the statutorily dedicated Concealed Handgun
Permit Fund related to new and renewal of five-year permits or lifetime permits for concealed weapons by active duty military members
based on FY 21 permits issued. DPS reports that in FY 21, there were 150 new and renewal permits and 45 lifetime permits were issued to
active duty military members. Using prior year actual numbers, the revenue loss is estimated at $20,625 (150 new/renewal permits x
$62.50 permit fee = $9,375 and 45 lifetime permits x $250 permit fee = $11,250). NOTE: The number of permits issued varies widely
from year to year based on external factors such a political influences, world, and national events, etc.

Louisiana Public Defender Board - The proposed law may result in an indeterminable decrease of Local Funds revenue received by
district public defender offices to handle cases associated with a failure to have a permit to carry a concealed handgun. District offices are
owed a $40 fee per application for public defense services and defendants are assessed a $45 special court cost for every conviction or
nolo contendere plea. It is unclear how many of the approximately 300 concealed handgun-related cases handled by the public defenders
annually are solely the result of an illegal carrying a concealed weapon charge only, and how many are in conjunction with other charges.
Therefore, the net impact on revenues is likely a decrease but indeterminable.

Other entities receive a portion of fees paid upon conviction of possession of a concealed firearm, and elimination of the requirement to
carry a concealed handgun permit may result in decreased SGR and LF revenues to support courts, crime labs, etc. The total loss of
revenues for the associated entities is indeterminable.
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