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Present law prohibits the carrying of a concealed firearm; provides for criminal penalties; provides for certain exceptions to the offense;
provides that Louisiana residents who meet certain eligibility requirements may apply for and be issued a concealed handgun permit; and
requires the person to possess a valid concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed handgun in the state. Proposed law creates an
exception to this prohibition for a person who is 21 years of age or older, and who is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under any
federal or state law. Proposed law removes the requirement that a person must possess a permit issued by the state to carry a concealed
handgun. Proposed law creates the Louisiana Firearm Safety Awareness Act. Proposed law requires State Police to create a 2 hour online
education course at no cost that includes specific topics. The course shall consist of 8 video segments at least 15 minutes per video.
Proposed law requires State Police to maintain an online searchable database of firearm instructors.

Proposed law is estimated to increase state expenditures by at least $20,290 (assumed to be SGF) in the Office of State Police within the
Department of Public Safety (DPS) for programming changes to the Concealed Handgun system and an indeterminable amount to develop
a 120-minute education course as well as increase by an indeterminable amount to maintain a searchable database of licensed handgun
and firearm instructors. The proposed law will require modifications to the State Police Concealed Handgun system. DPS indicates the
proposed law may require approximately 250 hours of overtime for the Information Services Section at an average cost of $80 per hour
($80 x 250 = $20,000) plus associated Medicare expenses ($20,000 x 1.45% = $290), or a total of $20,290. To develop the 120-minute
online course, the department reports an indeterminable one-time expenditure for video production costs. Currently, State Police
maintains a report listing all licensed firearm instructions on its website.

While the proposed law does not otherwise directly impact state or local governmental expenditures, it does eliminate Statutorily
Dedicated revenues out of the Concealed Handgun Permit Fund used to support certain functions within the Department of Public Safety,
Office of State Police ($2.95 M based on actuals in FY 21), Local Funds used to support public defender offices, and other various SGR and
Local Funds used to support courts, crime labs, etc. The total loss of revenues to support these expenditures is indeterminable (see
Revenue Explanation). To the extent that the legislature continues to fund activities in State Police supported by these revenues at the
same or a diminished level in subsequent fiscal years, the funding sources supporting the base expenditures must be replaced by SGF or
another revenue source to supplant the loss of statutory dedication expenditures. These activities would compete for annual SGF resources
along with other significant SGF supported services and activities of the state.

Proposed law will result in indeterminable decreased revenue from the statutorily dedicated Concealed Handgun Permit Fund. Based on
the number of new or renewal of five-year permits for concealed weapons issued in FY 20, the proposed law may result in a revenue
decrease of up to $4.1 M in the Concealed Handgun Permit Fund. DPS reports that in FY 20, 24,000 new, renewal permits, and lifetime
permits were issued. Using those numbers as a baseline, the revenue loss could be up to $4.1 M. NOTE: Some of the permits were issued
at half the standard fee because they were for people 65 and older or people with active military status. Additionally, the number of
permits issued varies widely from year to year based on external factors such as political influences, world, and national events, etc. In FY
20, concealed permits were down as a result of the statewide ransomware attack and COVID-19. Actual expenditures from the Concealed
Handgun Permit Fund have varied between $3 M and $5.4 M between FY 15 and FY 21.

DPS reports that the decrease attributable to the enactment of the proposed law may be mitigated to a partial or significant degree
because some people may still apply for a concealed weapon permit for several reasons. The Louisiana permit can be used to purchase a
firearm due to it being National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) compliant. Also, there are reciprocity agreements with
other states that allow concealed carry in those states with a Louisiana permit.

SEE REVENUE EXPLANATION CONTINUED ON PAGE TWO

REVENUE EXPLANATION

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

Provides relative to the concealed carrying of firearms
WEAPONS/HANDGUNS
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REVENUE EXPLANATION CONTINUED FROM PAGE ONE

Louisiana Public Defender Board
The proposed law may result in an indeterminable decrease of Local Funds revenue received by district public defender offices to handle
cases associated with a failure to have a permit to carry a concealed handgun. District offices are owed a $40 fee per application for public
defense services and defendants are assessed a $45 special court cost for every conviction or nolo contendere plea. It is unclear how
many of the 300 concealed handgun related cases handled by the public defenders annually are solely the result of an illegal carrying a
concealed weapon charge only, and how many are in conjunction with other charges. Therefore, the net impact on revenues is likely a
decrease but indeterminable.

Other entities receive a portion of fees paid upon conviction of possession of a concealed firearm, and elimination of the requirement to
carry a concealed handgun permit may result in decreased SGR and LF revenues to support courts, crime labs, etc. The total loss of
revenues for the associated entities is indeterminable.
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