RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 376 (HB 150)

2022 Regular Session

St. Blanc

<u>Existing law</u> provides for the appointment and composition of the Morgan City Harbor Terminal District Board of Commissioners as follows:

- (1) Two members appointed by the mayor and council of the town of Berwick.
- (2) Two members appointed by the mayor and council of the city of Morgan City.
- (3) Two members appointed by the parish president and council of St. Mary Parish.
- (4) Three members appointed by the governor, one each, from a list of three names submitted by the other appointing authorities.

Existing law requires the appointing authorities, except the governor, provided for in existing law to give notice to the public of the required application and interview process for appointments to the board of commissioners of the district. Authorizes interviews during an executive session, but requires the final nominations and appointments be done by open meeting. Authorizes the appointing authorities required to submit a list of names to the governor to use any process they deem advisable to compile the list.

<u>Prior law</u> required the terms of the initial appointees be concurrent with the terms of the appointing authority and thereafter for four years.

New law modifies prior law by increasing the length of the term of appointees $\underline{\text{from}}$ four years $\underline{\text{to}}$ seven years.

<u>Prior law</u> prohibited a board member from serving more than two consecutive four-year terms; however, authorized an initial appointee to be reappointed for two four-year terms if the initial term is one year or less. Authorized a member who had served two consecutive four-year terms to apply for appointment to the board, provided four years had elapsed since the end of his last term.

<u>New law modifies prior law</u> by changing the consecutive terms a board member is prohibited to serve <u>from</u> two consecutive four-year terms <u>to</u> two consecutive seven-year terms, unless an initial appointee's term is one year or less, then he may be reappointed for two seven-year terms instead of the two four-year terms in <u>existing law</u>.

<u>Existing law</u> creates the Port of South La. <u>Prior law</u> required the domicile and regular meeting place be Laplace, La.

New law modifies prior law by changing the domicile from Laplace, La., to Reserve, La.

<u>Prior law</u> authorized the domicile and regular meeting to be changed to Reserve, La., upon a 2/3 vote of the members of the commission in favor of a resolution authorizing the change and if the bylaws are amended to provide for this change. Required the vote occur no sooner than 24 hours after a public meeting specifically held to debate these matters and to receive public comment.

New law removes prior law.

Effective August 1, 2022.

(Amends R.S. 34:322.1(C) and (E) and 2472(B))