RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 368 (HB 72)

2022 Regular Session

Magee

<u>Existing law</u> provides for the appointment of members to the board of commissioners of fire protection districts. Generally provides that the board of commissioners shall consist of five members; provides exceptions.

Existing law provides for the members of the board of commissioners of Terrebonne Parish Fire Protection District No. Six if the Terrebonne Parish and Lafourche Parish governing authorities authorize extending the district into Lafourche Parish.

Prior law provided for a seven-member board under these circumstances.

New law provides for the following changes:

- (1) Changes total number of board members from seven <u>to</u> five.
- (2) Changes number of commissioners appointed by the governing authority of Terrebonne Parish from five <u>to</u> four.
- (3) Changes number of commissioners appointed by the governing authority of Lafourche Parish from two <u>to</u> one.
- (4) Removes requirement that a member appointed by the governing authority of Lafourche Parish be an elector of that parish.

Effective upon signature of governor (June 10, 2022).

(Amends R.S. 40:1496(F))