HLS 23RS-1638 ORIGINAL

2023 Regular Session

1

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 60

BY REPRESENTATIVE WHEAT

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the members and board of directors of the Louisiana School Boards Association for their commitment to advancing education in the state

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2	To commend the members and board of directors of the Louisiana School Boards
3	Association for their commitment to advancing education in the state.
4	WHEREAS, the Louisiana School Boards Association represents the six hundred
5	forty-three elected school board members of the sixty-nine locally elected school boards in
6	the state of Louisiana; and
7	WHEREAS, the Louisiana School Boards Association is governed by a board of
8	directors that is made up of school board members from across the state who are elected by
9	their peers; and
10	WHEREAS, the members of the board of directors of the Louisiana School Boards
11	Association go beyond their duties as members of their respective local school boards by
12	volunteering their time to promote, support, and advocate on behalf of the sixty-nine locally-
13	elected school boards across the state; and
14	WHEREAS, the Louisiana School Boards Association is holding its annual Capitol
15	Conference to promote advocacy for public education with the Legislature of Louisiana; and
16	WHEREAS, the 2023 officers of the Louisiana School Boards Association are
17	President Rose Dominguez of the Tangipahoa Parish School Board, President-Elect Vernon
18	Travis of the Vernon Parish School Board, and Vice-President Katherine Lemoine of the
19	St. Bernard Parish School Board; and
20	WHEREAS, the 2023 regional representatives of the Louisiana School Boards
21	Association include Sue Beier of St. James Parish, Debra Schum of St. John the Baptist

1 Parish, Taft Kleinpeter of Ascension Parish, Linda Chaney of St. Helena Parish, Jim Seaman

- 2 of Vernon Parish, Delo Hebert of Acadia Parish, Aimee Dupuy of Avoyelles Parish,
- 3 Veronica Tappin of Morehouse Parish, Glen Bullard of Bossier Parish, Reba Phelps of
- 4 Natchitoches Parish, Kasandria White of Red River Parish, Brandon Harrell of St. Tammany
- 5 Parish, and Yolanda Laws of Iberville Parish; the executive director of the association is
- 6 Dr. Janet Pope; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

HLS 23RS-1638

- WHEREAS, the 2023 members and board of directors of the Louisiana School
- 8 Boards Association are most deserving of the highest recognition for their commitment to
- 9 improving education in the state.
 - THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the members and board of directors of the Louisiana School Boards Association for their commitment to advancing education in the state; does hereby further recognize that education is the foundation for our state's future; and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the Louisiana School Boards Association continue to prosper in its efforts to both

DIGEST

support local school boards and promote progress in the state's education system.

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HCR 60 Original

2023 Regular Session

Wheat

Commends the members and board of directors of the La. School Boards Assoc. for their commitment to advancing education in the state.