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Current law requires a marketplace facilitator to collect and remit sales and use tax on remote sales delivered into Louisiana
for all of its marketplace sellers. The marketplace facilitator is required to act as a dealer for remote sales tax if either of the
following criteria are met during the previous or current year: 1) had gross revenue for all remote sales delivered into
Louisiana over $100,000, or 2) had 200 or more remote sales transactions in Louisiana. Marketplace facilitators must apply
for an application with the Remote Sellers Commission no later than 30 days after meeting this criteria.
Proposed law changes the revenue indicator at which a marketplace facilitator is required to collect and remit sales tax by
counting gross revenue only on retail sales instead of all sales, while still retaining the $100,000 minimum (removes sales
for resale or wholesale transactions from gross revenue). Proposed law also eliminates the 200 transaction limit for
marketplace facilitators. Proposed law requires the Remote Sellers Commission to approve or deny an application by a
marketplace facilitator within 30 business days of receipt.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure.

The bill appears to adjust marketplace facilitator criteria to allow fewer facilitators to be required to collect sales tax, while
also matching the criteria more closely to those facilitators with sales that generate sales tax. The Remote Sellers
Commission is unable to determine whether the bill will result in additional or fewer facilitators submitting applications to act
as a dealer. To the extent that a facilitator’s gross revenue reported was largely due to wholesale transactions, registration
may no longer be required. Further, a facilitator with less than $100,000 in gross revenue from Louisiana sales but more
than 200 transactions will no longer be required to collect sales tax. The Remote Sellers Commission reports that it is not
clear how this bill might impact sales tax collections since this population of facilitators cannot be readily identified.
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