DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HCR 81 Engrossed	2023 Regular Session	Echols
iieiteet Engressea	2020 Regular Sebbion	LUIIOID

Establishes the ArkLaMiss Timber and Bioinnovation Corridor Commission to consider and make recommendations regarding the creation of an ArkLaMiss Timber and Bioinnovation Corridor, a multistate wood basket collaborative between Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and to serve as the La. delegation for such collaborative when it is established.

Requires the commission to study and make recommendations regarding the following:

- (1) Legal and legislative requirements to establish the ArkLaMiss Timber and Bioinnovation Corridor.
- (2) Structure and governance of the ArkLaMiss Timber and Bioinnovation Corridor;
- (3) The powers, duties, and decision-making process for and among state commissions for the ArkLaMiss Timber and Bioinnovation Corridor.
- (4) The main goals and objectives of the state commissions individually and acting collectively for ArkLaMiss Timber and Bioinnovation Corridor.

The commission may also consider any relevant matter, including the following:

- (1) Improvements to infrastructure between the three states that may help maximize opportunities.
- (2) Rural development opportunities for a collective ArkLaMiss wood basket.
- (3) Identification of stakeholders, including industry, governmental, trade, advocacy, and biotech representatives that may be able to contribute to policy making.
- (4) Technological advancements in the industry that could be capitalized on through the multistate collaborative.

The commission is to be composed of the following members:

(1) One member from the La. Department of Transportation and Development, to be appointed by the secretary.

- (2) One member from La. Economic Development appointed by the secretary.
- (3) One member from the La. Department of Agriculture and Forestry appointed by the commissioner.
- (4) The state representative for House District 14.
- (5) Two members from the La. House of Representatives appointed by the speaker.
- (6) Two members from the La. Senate appointed by the president.

The commission is required to convene its first meeting no later than Sept. 1, 2023, and it must submit a report of its findings and recommendations by Feb. 1, 2024.