BY SENATOR FIELDS

A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the graduates of the Louisiana Leadership Institute for 2023.

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the state of Louisiana recognizes the diligence and achievements of the 2023 class of graduates, a dynamic and brilliant group of students who have demonstrated excellence in academic achievement, community service, good character, and leadership; and

WHEREAS, at the core of the Louisiana Leadership Institute is to inspire and educate the youth of Baton Rouge, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, students delve into a wide range of topics, including politics, current events, public speaking, interpersonal skills, and more; and

WHEREAS, each class has the opportunity of taking an annual trip, which combines comradery, education, and fun, as they attend notable destinations throughout the country including interactions with White House staffers and policymakers including the receipt of and profound encouragement from the late United States Representative Elijah Cummings and special recognition from the Reverend Jesse Jackson during the Rainbow Push Coalition speech competition; and

WHEREAS, after a year of participating in a series of events, including Christmas concerts, Black history programs, and senior service projects, their year is capped with the Senior's Graduation Ceremony; and

WHEREAS, during year-end ceremonies, former graduates of the Institute who have pursued higher education at esteemed institutions such as Stanford University, Harvard University, and Howard University are honored; this year the honorees are Kylan Borskey, a Louisiana State University graduate, Myles Fabre, a Harvey Mudd College graduate, and Brandie Hayes, a Dillard University graduate; and

WHEREAS, the 2023 class of graduates from the Louisiana Leadership Classroom are: Deanna C. Anthony, Zachary High; Kaleb K. Chew, Red Oaks High; Trinity C. Escort, Liberty Magnet High; Tianna N. Huggins, Broadmoor High; Khyla I. King, Geo Next Generation; Daniel Price, Mckinley Senior High; Ta'Leah Reed, Baton Rouge High; and

SR NO. 124 ENROLLED

Caleb W. Cox, St. Augustine High School; and

WHEREAS, the 2023 class of graduates from the Louisiana Leadership Institute's All-Star Band from Plaquemine High are Czanice J. Anderson and Jakolby Northern; from Madison Prep, Xander Booker and Michael A. Hale; from Baker High, Terry J. Butler, Kentrell Prophet Jr.; from Tara High, Aden C. Bynum; from Port Allen High, George A. Dupluche, Neavah M. Ibe, and Denisha D. James; from Port Allen Senior High, Harmonie A. Reado, Alexis S. Smith, and Jayden S. Wright; from Scotlandville Magnet High, Taylan A. Harrison, Tobias L. Lemons, Calvin D. Rachal, and Robert J. Williams; from Denham Springs High, Jabari Johnson; from Math, Science, Arts Academy West, Alden W. Snell; from Southern University Lab, Matthew G. Spears; and from Belaire Senior High, Micarlos D. Young; and

WHEREAS, the 2023 class of graduates from the Louisiana Leadership Institute's Academic Honors Network are from Scotlandville Magnet High, Takeycia Daniel; from Denham Springs High, Jaci A. Poirrier; from McKinley Senior High, Calen M. Smith and Carl H. Thomas; from Tara High, Magdalena C. Tzoy-Castro; and from Liberty Magnet High, Connor J. Waters; and

WHEREAS, the founder of the Louisiana Leadership Institute, Senator Cleo Fields has been given yet another honor and the utmost privilege of inspiring an amazing group of future leaders and positive role models for our high schools, communities, and our state.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the graduates of the Louisiana Leadership Institute for 2023 and wish them all the very best for their very bright futures.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each graduate from the Louisiana Leadership Institute for the year 2023.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE