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Present law prohibits the carrying of a concealed firearm; provides for criminal penalties; provides for certain exceptions to
the offense; provides that Louisiana residents who meet certain eligibility requirements may apply for and be issued a
concealed handgun permit; and requires the person to possess a valid concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed
handgun in the state. Proposed law creates an exception to this prohibition for a person (Louisiana resident and non-
resident) who is 18 years of age or older, and who is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under any federal or state
law. Proposed law removes the requirement that a person must possess a permit issued by the state to carry a concealed
handgun. Proposed law provides the LA State Police increase online handgun education course from 2 hours to 2 hours 15
minutes and adds topics on handling procedures revolvers and semiautomatic pistols, safe storage of firearms as well as an
additional video segment on suicide prevention.

Proposed law is estimated to increase state expenditures by $16,000 (assumed to be SGF) in the Office of State Police within
the Department of Public Safety (DPS). The proposed law requires the LA State Police to develop an additional 15-minute
video segment on suicide prevention into its current online handgun education course. Also, the proposed law requires the
LA State Police to incorporate handling procedures for revolvers and semiautomatic pistols and safe storage into existing
video segments.
While the proposed law does not otherwise directly impact state or local governmental expenditures, it does eliminate
Statutorily Dedicated revenues out of the Concealed Handgun Permit Fund used to support certain functions within the
Department of Public Safety, Office of State Police ($4.4 M based on actuals in FY 22), Local Funds used to support public
defender offices, and other various SGR and Local Funds used to support courts, crime labs, etc. The total loss of revenues
to support these expenditures is indeterminable (see Revenue Explanation). To the extent that the legislature continues to
fund activities in State Police supported by these revenues at the same or a diminished level in subsequent fiscal years, the
funding sources supporting the base expenditures must be replaced by SGF or another revenue source to supplant the loss
of statutory dedication expenditures. These activities would compete for annual SGF resources along with other significant
SGF supported services and activities of the state.

Proposed law will result in an indeterminable decrease in revenue from the statutorily dedicated Concealed Handgun Permit
Fund. Based on the 19,851 new or renewal of five-year permits for concealed weapons issued in 2022, the proposed law
may result in a revenue decrease of up to $3 M in the Concealed Handgun Permit Fund. DPS reports that in 2021, 37,000
new, renewal permits, and lifetime permits were issued. Using those numbers as a baseline, the revenue loss could be up to
$5.9 M. NOTE: Some of the permits were issued at half the standard fee because they were for people 65 and older or
people with active military status. Additionally, the number of permits issued varies widely from year to year based on
external factors such as political influences, world, and national events, etc. Actual revenue from the Concealed Handgun
Permit Fund has varied over the past three years: $4.6 M in 2020, $5.9 M in 2021, and $3 M in 2022.

DPS reports that the decrease attributable to the enactment of the proposed law may be mitigated to a partial or significant
degree because some people may still apply for a concealed weapon permit for several reasons. The Louisiana permit can be
used to purchase a firearm due to it being National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) compliant. Also, there
are reciprocity agreements with other states that allow concealed carry in those states with a Louisiana permit.

SEE REVENUE EXPLANATION CONTINUED ON PAGE TWO

REVENUE EXPLANATION

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

Provides relative to the concealed carrying of firearms
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REVENUE EXPLANATION CONTINUED FROM PAGE ONE

Louisiana Public Defender Board
The proposed law may result in an indeterminable decrease in Local Funds revenue received by district public defender
offices to handle cases associated with a failure to have a permit to carry a concealed handgun. District offices are owed a
$40 fee per application for public defense services. It is unclear how many of the concealed handgun related cases handled
by the public defenders annually are solely the result of an illegal carrying a concealed weapon charge only, and how many
are in conjunction with other charges. Therefore, the net impact on revenues is likely a small, but indeterminable, decrease.

Other entities receive a portion of fees paid upon conviction of possession of a concealed firearm, and elimination of the
requirement to carry a concealed handgun permit may result in decreased SGR and Local Funds revenues to support courts,
crime labs, etc. The total loss of revenues for the associated entities is indeterminable.
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