SLS 23RS-2315 ORIGINAL

2023 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 143

BY SENATOR BOUDREAUX

COMMENDATIONS. Commends Mike McConathy on being named LABC's 2023 Mr. Basketball.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend Mike McConathy on being named the recipient of the 2023 Mr. Basketball
3	Award by the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches.
4	WHEREAS, the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches (LABC) is an
5	esteemed organization dedicated to recognizing and promoting excellence in the sport of
6	basketball and annually bestows the prestigious Mr. Basketball Award to an individual who
7	has demonstrated outstanding leadership, exceptional skill, and unwavering commitment to
8	the game; and
9	WHEREAS, in the year 2023, the LABC has bestowed the coveted Mr. Basketball
10	Award upon a truly deserving individual, Mike McConathy, whose unparalleled dedication
11	and contributions to basketball have earned him this prestigious honor; and
12	WHEREAS, Mike McConathy, a native of Louisiana, has long been recognized as
13	a pillar of the basketball community within our great state; and
14	WHEREAS, known as a program builder with a Midas touch, Mike McConathy has
15	showcased his exceptional coaching abilities throughout his illustrious career; and
16	WHEREAS, he embarked on a remarkable journey as he started the basketball
17	program from scratch at Bossier Parish Community College, transforming it into a National
18	Junior College Athletic Association national tournament participant; and

1	WHEREAS, his coaching tenure of twenty-three years, 1999-2022, at Northwestern
2	State University, marked a period of extraordinary achievement, during which he amassed
3	a state-record six hundred eighty-two victories, becoming Louisiana's leader in coaching
4	victories; and
5	WHEREAS, Mike McConathy's tenure at Northwestern State University included
6	numerous notable accomplishments, including guiding the Demons to three NCAA
7	Tournaments in 2001, 2006, and 2013; and
8	WHEREAS, his exceptional coaching prowess was highlighted in the historic 2001
9	play-in game, where the Demons secured a momentous victory over Winthrop 71-67,
10	marking the first of its kind; and
11	WHEREAS, Mike McConathy's coaching legacy at Northwestern State University
12	reached new heights when he and his Demons engineered one of March Madness' most
13	memorable moments, as Jermaine Wallace's corner three-pointer sealed a remarkable 64-63
14	upset of No. 3 seed Iowa, with the Demons rallying from a seventeen-point deficit with less
15	than ten minutes remaining; and
16	WHEREAS, Mike McConathy's unwavering commitment to his players' academic
17	success has also been commendable, emphasizing the importance of education and character
18	development alongside athletic pursuits; and
19	WHEREAS, the LABC, in recognition of Mike McConathy's outstanding
20	achievements, unwavering dedication, and profound impact on the basketball community
21	has honored him with the 2023 Mr. Basketball Award; and
22	WHEREAS, the victory total and championship banners achieved by Mike
23	McConathy are emblematic of his exceptional career as a collegiate head coach, spanning
24	over three decades.
25	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Louisiana Senate hereby commends
26	Mike McConathy on being named the recipient of the 2023 Mr. Basketball Award by the
27	Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches and extends its heartfelt congratulation on his
28	exceptional coaching career, applauding his dedication, leadership, and significant
29	contributions to the sport of basketball.

30

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Mike

SLS 23RS-2315

ORIGINAL
SR NO. 143

1 McConathy as an expression of the Louisiana Senate's deep admiration and appreciation for

2 his outstanding achievements and commitment to the game of basketball.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Tyler S. McCloud.

DIGEST 2023 Regular Session

Boudreaux

SR 143 Original

Commends Mike McConathy on being named the recipient of the 2023 Mr. Basketball Award by the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches.