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Present law prohibits the carrying of a concealed firearm, provides for criminal penalties, provides for certain exceptions to
the offense, provides that Louisiana residents who meet certain eligibility requirements may apply for and be issued a
concealed handgun permit, and requires the person to possess a valid concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed
handgun in the state. Proposed law creates an exception to this prohibition for a person who is 18 years of age or older and
who is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under any federal or state law. Proposed law removes the requirement that
a person must possess a permit issued by the state to carry a concealed handgun.

While the proposed law does not otherwise directly impact state or local governmental expenditures, it does eliminate
Statutorily Dedicated revenues out of the Concealed Handgun Permit Fund used to support certain functions within the
Department of Public Safety, Office of State Police ($4.4 M based on the budget in FY 24), Local Funds used to support
public defender offices, and other various SGR and Local Funds used to support courts, crime labs, etc. The total loss of
revenues to support these expenditures is indeterminable (see Revenue Explanation). To the extent that the legislature
continues to fund activities in State Police supported by these revenues at the same or a diminished level in subsequent
fiscal years, the funding sources supporting the base expenditures must be replaced by SGF or another revenue source to
supplant the loss of statutory dedication expenditures. These activities would compete for annual SGF resources along with
other significant SGF supported services and activities of the state.

Proposed law will result in an indeterminable decrease in revenue from the statutorily dedicated Concealed Handgun Permit
Fund. Based on the 18,259 new or renewal of five-year permits for concealed weapons issued in 2023, the proposed law
may result in a revenue decrease of up to $2.5 M in the Concealed Handgun Permit Fund. DPS reports that in 2022, 19,851
new, renewal permits, and lifetime permits were issued. Using those numbers as a baseline, the revenue loss could be up to
$3 M. NOTE: Some of the permits were issued at half the standard fee because they were for people 65 and older or people
with active military status. Additionally, the number of permits issued varies widely from year to year based on external
factors such as political influences, world, and national events, etc. Actual revenue from the Concealed Handgun Permit Fund
has varied over the past three years: $4.2 M in 2021, $3.3 M in 2022, and $2.9 M in 2023.

DPS reports that the decrease attributable to the enactment of the proposed law may be mitigated to a partial or significant
degree because some people may still apply for a concealed weapon permit for several reasons. The Louisiana permit can be
used to purchase a firearm due to it being National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) compliant. Also, there
are reciprocity agreements with other states that allow concealed carry in those states with a Louisiana permit.

SEE REVENUE EXPLANATION CONTINUED ON PAGE TWO

REVENUE EXPLANATION

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

Provides relative to the right of law-abiding citizens to carry concealed weapons lawfully without a permit.  (8/1/24) (Item
#18)
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The proposed law may result in an indeterminable decrease in Local Funds revenue received by district public defender
offices to handle cases associated with a failure to have a permit to carry a concealed handgun. District offices are owed a
$40 fee per application for public defense services. It is unclear how many of the concealed handgun related cases handled
by the public defenders annually are solely the result of an illegal carrying a concealed weapon charge only, and how many
are in conjunction with other charges. Therefore, the net impact on revenues is likely a small, but indeterminable, decrease.

Other entities receive a portion of fees paid upon conviction of possession of a concealed firearm, and elimination of the
requirement to carry a concealed handgun permit may result in decreased SGR and Local Funds revenues to support courts,
crime labs, etc. The total loss of revenues for the associated entities is indeterminable.
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