## 2024 Regular Session

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 63

# BY REPRESENTATIVE BRASS AND SENATOR PRICE

#### A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend New Zion Christian Center for its spiritual journey over the course of its onehundred-fifty-year history.

WHEREAS, New Zion Christian Center was first formed as Mt. Zion Baptist Church in a little sugar community known as Plantations on the East Bank of the Mississippi River; the church was formed by a group of believers led by Sheppard Johnson, and Thomas B. Holmes served as its pastor and overseer; and

WHEREAS, Mt. Zion was renamed New Zion Baptist Church in 1902 under the leadership of Reverend Jessie Keys; during his tenure, the church moved first to East Main Street and later East Second Street, and the faith community grew considerably; and

WHEREAS, New Zion experienced a period of significant growth and transition under Reverend Keys and his successors Reverend Thomas B. Holmes, Reverend Isaac Curtis, Reverend Levy Curtis, Reverend Guste Fritz, Reverend Williams Stewart, Reverend V. Bailey, Reverend Ky Jones, and Reverend Versey Michael; and

WHEREAS, New Zion continues to grow under its current pastor, Elder Emil Dean Mitchell, Sr.; Pastor Mitchell and his wife, Minister Beatrice Mitchell, serve the church together and share the labors of leading the faith community; and

WHEREAS, under Pastor Mitchell, New Zion's name changed to New Zion Full Gospel Baptist Church; years later, he oversaw the establishment of New Zion Christian Center with a new sanctuary that houses one thousand churchgoers; and

WHEREAS, New Zion Christian Center and its faith community are most deserving of the highest recognition for their inspiring growth over the last one hundred fifty years. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend New Zion Christian Center for its spiritual journey over the course of its one hundred-fifty year history and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the New Zion Christian Center family continues to prosper for many years to come.

# SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE