HLS 24RS-3510

2024 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 139

BY REPRESENTATIVE THOMPSON

COMMENDATIONS: Commends Dr. Tara P. Smith on receiving the 2024 National Impact Award from the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend Dr. Tara P. Smith on receiving the 2024 National Impact Award from the
3	National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group.
4	WHEREAS, Dr. Tara P. Smith, currently serving as the executive associate vice
5	president and director of the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service, has been honored by
6	the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group with the 2024 National Impact Award; and
7	WHEREAS, Dr. Smith's journey began as an entomology graduate student at LSU,
8	where she delved into integrated pest management for sweet potato soil insects, and her
9	unwavering commitment led her to become a vital member of the National Sweetpotato
10	Collaborators Group; and
11	WHEREAS, in her role as the state sweet potato specialist for Louisiana, Dr. Smith
12	has spent seventeen years working on research and extension projects related to sweet
13	potatoes, enhancing producers' crop yields through knowledge gained from AgCenter
14	research; and
15	WHEREAS, Dr. Smith's impact extends beyond research, as she effectively
16	communicates the findings of her colleagues to the industry, bridging the gap between
17	research and practical application; and
18	WHEREAS, Dr. Smith assumed the position of interim executive associate vice
19	president of the AgCenter and director of the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service in
20	December 2022, roles that became permanent in April 2023, solidifying her commitment to
21	supporting the sweet potato industry both in Louisiana and nationally; and

1	WHEREAS, Dr. Smith continues her work as the research coordinator for the Sweet
2	Potato Research Station, thereby advancing sweet potato cultivation practices; and
3	WHEREAS, Dr. Smith's early exposure and networking with the sweet potato
4	industry and the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group have been foundational to her
5	success, inspiring all who work in this vital field; and
6	WHEREAS, the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group, formed in 1939, fosters
7	open sharing of sweet potato research among university, industry, and government
8	representatives from twenty-one states and five other countries.
9	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the
10	Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Dr. Tara P. Smith on receiving the 2024
11	National Impact Award from the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group and does hereby
12	recognize her outstanding contributions to sweet potato agriculture, her leadership, and her
13	unwavering commitment to the industry and its growth.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 139 Original

2024 Regular Session

Thompson

Commends Dr. Tara P. Smith on receiving the 2024 National Impact Award from the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group.