2024 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 139

BY REPRESENTATIVE THOMPSON

A RESOLUTION

To commend Dr. Tara P. Smith on receiving the 2024 National Impact Award from the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group.

WHEREAS, Dr. Tara P. Smith, currently serving as the executive associate vice president and director of the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service, has been honored by the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group with the 2024 National Impact Award; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Smith's journey began as an entomology graduate student at LSU, where she delved into integrated pest management for sweet potato soil insects, and her unwavering commitment led her to become a vital member of the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group; and

WHEREAS, in her role as the state sweet potato specialist for Louisiana, Dr. Smith has spent seventeen years working on research and extension projects related to sweet potatoes, enhancing producers' crop yields through knowledge gained from AgCenter research; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Smith's impact extends beyond research, as she effectively communicates the findings of her colleagues to the industry, bridging the gap between research and practical application; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Smith assumed the position of interim executive associate vice president of the AgCenter and director of the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service in December 2022, roles that became permanent in April 2023, solidifying her commitment to supporting the sweet potato industry both in Louisiana and nationally; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Smith continues her work as the research coordinator for the Sweet Potato Research Station, thereby advancing sweet potato cultivation practices; and WHEREAS, Dr. Smith's early exposure and networking with the sweet potato industry and the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group have been foundational to her success, inspiring all who work in this vital field; and

WHEREAS, the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group, formed in 1939, fosters open sharing of sweet potato research among university, industry, and government representatives from twenty-one states and five other countries.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Dr. Tara P. Smith on receiving the 2024 National Impact Award from the National Sweetpotato Collaborators Group and does hereby recognize her outstanding contributions to sweet potato agriculture, her leadership, and her unwavering commitment to the industry and its growth.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES