## RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

**ACT 601 (HB 146)** 

## **2024 Regular Session**

Farnum

<u>Existing law</u> vests the governing authority of the Sabine River Authority in a board composed of 13 members.

<u>Existing law</u> requires the 13 members of the board be appointed by the governor, one of whom will serve as chairman.

<u>Existing law</u> specifies that four members must be residents of Sabine Parish, two members must be residents of Calcasieu Parish, two members must be residents of Vernon Parish, two members must be residents of DeSoto Parish, two members must be residents of Beauregard Parish, and one member must be a resident of Cameron Parish.

<u>New law</u> specifies that preference must be given to one of the two members from Calcasieu Parish who is a domiciled resident of the Sabine River Watershed area, as defined by the established parish drainage maps.

Effective August 1, 2024.

(Amends R.S. 38:2322(A))