RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 726 (HB 806) 2024 Regular Session

Geymann

Existing law establishes the Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority Board and provides for membership of the board.

Prior law specified that the board was composed of the following members:

- (1) The executive assistant to the governor for coastal activities.
- (2) The secretary of the Dept. of Energy and Natural Resources or his designee.
- (3) The secretary of the Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries or his designee.
- (4) The secretary of the Dept. of Environmental Quality or his designee.
- (5) The secretary of the Dept. of Transportation and Development or his designee.
- (6) The secretary of the Dept. of Economic Development or his designee.
- (7) The commissioner of administration or his designee.
- (8) The commissioner of agriculture and forestry or his designee.
- (9) The commissioner of insurance or his designee.
- (10) Eight members appointed by the governor, in consultation with the Police Jury Association of La. and the Assoc. of Levee Boards of La., from nominations submitted by coastal area levee districts, legislators, and parish governing authorities, and representing seven specified hydrologic basins.
- (11) The chair of the Governor's Advisory Commission on Coastal Protection, Restoration, and Conservation or his designee.
- (12) The director of the Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness or his designee.
- (13) The speaker of the House of Representatives or his designee (ex officio).
- (14) The president of the Senate or his designee (ex officio).
- (15) The lieutenant governor or his designee who is an employee of the office of lieutenant governor.

<u>New law</u> adds three at large members appointed by the governor.

<u>New law</u> removes the following members from the board:

- (1) The secretary of the Dept. of Transportation and Development or his designee.
- (2) The secretary of the Dept. of Economic Development or his designee.
- (3) The commissioner of administration or his designee.
- (4) The commissioner of agriculture and forestry or his designee.
- (5) The commissioner of insurance or his designee.
- (6) The director of Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness or his designee.

<u>New law</u> directs the La. State Law Institute to renumber the list of board members and to correct any cross-references that may need to be changed as a result of this renumbering.

Effective upon signature of governor (June 19, 2024).

(Adds R.S. 49:214.5.1(B)(16); Repeals R.S. 49:214.5.1(B)(5)-(9) and (12))