SENATE COMMITTEE AMENDMENTS

2024 Third Extraordinary Session

Amendments proposed by Senate Committee on Natural Resources to Reengrossed House Bill No. 23 by Representative Geymann

AMENDMENT NO. 1

- 2 On page 3, delete lines 27 and 28 and on page 4, delete lines 1 and 2 and insert:
 - "B. The commission shall consist of ten members comprised as follows:
 - (1) The secretary of the Department of Energy and Natural Resources, who shall serve as the chairman, and the assistant secretary, who shall serve as vice chairman. The undersecretary of the department may serve as a proxy member of the board in the absence of the secretary with full authority to act for the secretary as a member of the board.
 - (2) One person appointed by the governor, who shall serve at the pleasure of the governor.
 - (3) One person appointed by the governor from a list of three persons submitted by the Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association for an initial term of four years.
 - (4) One person appointed by the governor from a list of three persons submitted by the Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association for an initial term of two years.
 - (5) One person appointed by the governor from a list of three persons submitted by the Louisiana Independent Oil and Gas Association who shall serve an initial term of four years.
 - (6) One person appointed by the governor from a list of three persons submitted by the Louisiana Independent Oil and Gas Association who shall serve an initial term of two years.
 - (7) One person appointed by the governor from a list of three persons submitted by the Louisiana Landowners Association who shall serve an initial term of three years.
 - (8) One person appointed by the governor from a list of three persons submitted by representatives of the Louisiana division of the Sierra Club, the Louisiana Wildlife Federation, and the Louisiana division of the Audubon Society, who shall serve an initial term of three years.
 - (9) One person appointed by the governor from a list of three persons submitted by the Nature Conservancy for an initial term of three years.
 - (10) The assistant secretary for the office of conservation or his designee shall serve as vice chairman of the commission. The assistant secretary shall not be counted to determine the number needed to constitute a quorum but shall be counted to establish a quorum. When the secretary is present, the assistant secretary shall not be a voting member. The Department of Energy and Natural Resources shall adopt rules and regulations, in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, to implement the provisions of this Part and to provide for procedures for site assessments and restoration."