2025 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 11

BY REPRESENTATIVE TURNER

A RESOLUTION

To commend The Energy Council on the occasion of its fiftieth anniversary.

WHEREAS, The Energy Council is a non-partisan legislative organization founded in 1975 as the Southwest Regional Energy Council and included five original member states: Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas, and New Mexico; the organization has grown to fourteen member states with the addition of West Virginia, Mississippi, Alabama, Kansas, Montana, North Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and Alaska; the Council also welcomed the Canadian provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan; and

WHEREAS, The Energy Council was formed to provide a forum for state legislators interested in energy policy, and it allows legislative policymakers to maintain a dialogue and educate themselves about important issues related to the energy sector; and

WHEREAS, The Energy Council Executive Committee includes legislators from several member states and the two Canadian provinces; Louisiana is represented on the committee by Senate President J. Cameron Henry, Jr., Senator Kirk Talbot, Representative Ryan Bourriaque, and Representative Christopher Turner; and

WHEREAS, The Energy Council is an immensely valuable resource for both legislators and their constituencies, especially those in energy-producing states such as Louisiana, and provides a means to acquire a better understanding of energy markets, technology, and policy; and

WHEREAS, The Energy Council is most deserving of the highest recognition for leading discussions around responsible energy policy and for serving as a beacon of leadership to legislators across the country.

HR NO. 11 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend The Energy Council on the occasion of its fiftieth anniversary and does hereby extend enduring appreciation for its efforts to promote responsible energy policy in the state of Louisiana and across the United States.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES