DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the
legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law
or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 661 Original 2025 Regular Session Miller
Abstract: Modifies fees collected by the La. Dept. of Health (LDH), office of public health.

Present law establishes that LDH may inspect a food and beverage vendor at the New Orleans Jazz
and Heritage Festival for compliance with the state sanitary code.

Proposed law provides that LDH shall charge a $25 permit fee to each food and beverage vendor at
the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.

Proposed law requires LDH shall charge a fee of $15 for each export certificate or certificate of free
sale issued at the request of a manufacturer or distributor whose operations are subject to LDH
jurisdiction.

Proposed law modifies present law increasing the following sewage fees:

(1) Sewerage installer license annual fee increases from $100 to $150.

(2) Sewerage maintenance license annual fee increases from $100 to $150.

3) Combination installer and maintenance license increases from $100 to $150.

4) Sewerage treatment and interrelated systems inspection from $100 to $150.

Present law provides that LDH may charge a fee for inspecting sewerage treatment and interrelated
systems if all of the following circumstances exist:

(1) The systems are designed to produce less than or equal to 1,500 gallons of effluent.
(2) The systems do not limit or reduce the effluent and of sewage per day.
3) The systems contain a device for disinfecting effluent approved by LDH.

Proposed law repeals the fee that LDH may collect for inspecting sewerage treatment and interrelated
systems provided for in present law.

Present law provides that fees established in present law shall replace fees under the heading
"Sewerage" promulgated in the June 20, 1989 Louisiana Register.



Proposed law repeals present law.

Proposed law establishes a $100 fee for LDH to review any plans required to be submitted to LDH
in connection with a permit application for a new facility, operation, or establishment or substantial
renovation of an existing facility, operation, or establishment. Proposed law further provides that
an entity may pay an alternative fee of $1,000 to expedite the review process.

Present law provides that a retail permit holder authorized to sell therapeutic marijuana is required
to pay permit fees required by law and the rules and regulations of LDH.

Proposed law provides that the department shall charge an annual permit fee to a retail permit holder
based on its gross sales of therapeutic marijuana.

Present law requires LDH to collecta $100,000 license fee from each licensee permitted to cultivate,
extract, process, produce, and transport therapeutic marijuana. Present law further provides that each
licensee permitted to cultivate, extract, process, produce, and transport therapeutic marijuana shall
be charged a fee that equals 7% of the licensee's gross sales of therapeutic marijuana.

Proposed law provides that each licensee authorized to cultivate, extract, process, produce, and
transport therapeutic marijuana shall be charged a $50 fee for each therapeutic marijuana product
that the licensee uploads to the Louisiana Medical Marijuana Tracking System.

Effective upon signature of governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 40:4.7, 31.32(D) and (E) and 1046(G)(1)(b); Adds R.S. 40:31.31.1, 31.40, and
1046(H)(4)(e); Repeals R.S. 40:31.32(F))



