2025 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 139

BY REPRESENTATIVES BERAULT AND GLORIOSO

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Pope John Paul II High School boys' swim team on winning the 2024 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division IV Boys state championship and the girls' swim team on winning the 2024 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division IV Girls state championship.

WHEREAS, the Pope John Paul II High School boys' and girls' swim teams are led by Head Coach Tiffany Hooks Hill and team moderator Mona Erato; the school's athletic director is Richard Dieudonné and the head of the school is Kimberlie Kilroy; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Pope John Paul II High School boys' swim team are Blake Borchers, Cade Chianelli, Wyatt Combs, Michael Delaney, Cole Hutson, Brent Lusich, Eric Ring, Sawyer Smith, and Zayne Sterbenz; and

WHEREAS, the boys' swim team has enjoyed a five year streak, winning the Division IV Boys state swimming titles in 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, and 2024; Eric Ring was awarded Most Outstanding Swimmer of the 2024 state meet after claiming double event wins in the 200M freestyle and 500M freestyle; Wyatt Combs also claimed double event wins in the 200M individual medley and the 100M butterfly, Cole Hutson placed second in the 200M freestyle, and Zayne Sterbenz finished second in the 100M freestyle; and

WHEREAS, the Pope John Paul II boys' relay teams put on an excellent display at the 2024 state swim meet; the relay team of Wyatt Combs, Cole Hutson, Zayne Sterbenz, and Eric Ring placed first in the 400M freestyle relay and broke the Division IV state record; the same relay team won first in the 200M medley relay, and the relay team of Michael Delaney, Blake Borchers, Brent Lusich, and Cade Chianelli placed second in the 200M freestyle relay; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Pope John Paul II High School girls' swim team are Juliette Brewer, Genevieve Delaney, Taylor Frick, Kaycee Fullerton, Avery Hayden, Mady Hill, Angela Kelley, Elizabeth Kelley, Scarlett Kingman, Braylee Ladner, Iris Lin, Adelynn Miller, April Oldfield, and Sally Wagner; and

WHEREAS, the girls' team made school history by claiming its first-ever state swimming title at the 2024 state swim meet; Mady Hill was recognized as the Most Outstanding Swimmer of the state meet after claiming double event wins in the 50M freestyle and the 100M butterfly; she has claimed this honor in all four years of her high school career, and she also won the Most Outstanding Swimmer honor at the all-star swim meet; Taylor Frick placed first in the 500M freestyle and second in the 100M backstroke, Avery Hayden finished third in the 200M individual medley, and Braylee Ladner claimed double event wins in the 200M freestyle and 100M freestyle; and

WHEREAS, the Pope John Paul II girls' relay teams were dominant at the state swim meet; the relay team of Mady Hill, Avery Hayden, Taylor Frick, and Braylee Ladner claimed first in the 400M freestyle relay and broke the Division IV state record; the relay team of Mady Hill, Taylor Frick, Braylee Ladner, and Iris Lin placed first in 200M medley relay and broke the Division IV state record; the relay team of Avery Hayden, Adelynn Miller, Juliette Brewer, and Iris Lin placed second in the 200M freestyle relay; and

WHEREAS, Coach Tiffany Hooks Hill was recognized as the 2024 Metro Boys Coach of the Year after the team's incredible performance throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, the Pope John Paul II High School swim teams are most deserving of the highest recognition for their incredible achievements this season.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Pope John Paul II High School boys' swim team on winning the 2024 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division IV Boys state championship and the girls' swim team on winning the 2024 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division IV Girls state championship and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the members of both teams continue their excellent work and always strive for greatness.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES