BY SENATOR BOUDREAUX

A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate Teurlings Catholic High School on winning the 2025

Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LSHAA) Baseball Division II Select

Championship.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State Senate takes great pride in recognizing the achievements of student-athletes who bring honor to their schools and communities through hard work, perseverance, and excellence in competition; and

WHEREAS, Teurlings Catholic High School, located in Lafayette, Louisiana, has established itself as a powerhouse in high school baseball, capturing back-to-back state titles in the LSHAA Division II Select classification in 2024 and 2025; and

WHEREAS, the Rebels capped off their exceptional 2025 campaign with an impressive overall record of 34 wins and only 5 losses, going undefeated in District 4-4A play with a 9-0 record and earning the district championship; and

WHEREAS, Teurlings Catholic displayed dominance in the 2025 championship series, defeating E.D. White Catholic High School by a score of 14-3 in game 3 of the finals, with a stunning offensive performance that saw the Rebels surge to a 12-0 lead in just two innings, scoring six runs in both the first and second frames; and

WHEREAS, junior Evan Vincent earned the Outstanding Player of the Finals Honor for the second consecutive year, showing exceptional leadership and sportsmanship, and humbly credited his teammates in accepting his award; and

WHEREAS, the Rebels were led by Head Coach Brooks Badeaux, a proud 1994 graduate of Teurlings Catholic, who praised his players for their resilience, focus, and ability to rise to the challenge of defending their title; and

WHEREAS, the state champion team members include: Brant Badeaux, Ryan Berard, Andrew DeValcourt, Jace Garber, Zan Johnson, Jack Ortego, Jack Purser, Tucker Romero, Porter Stuart, Axel Tyler, Jackson Breaux, Dylan Helms, Ross Higdon, Nicholas

SR NO. 153 <u>ENROLLED</u>

Mire, William Power, Brennen Storms, Evan Vincent, Isaac Boudreaux, Nicholas Brown, Kaden Chavis, Hudson Clavelle, Carson Credeur, Oliver Dean, Karter Deculus, Maddox Domingue, Mason Gonzales, Lincoln Guillory, Douglas Kade Schambough, Ryder Thomas, Miller Yerby; and

WHEREAS, Coach Badeaux, along with assistant coaches Dayton Landry, Mike Lemoine, Douglas Schambough, and Bart Vitte, and athletic trainer Ricky Landry, provided vital leadership, development, and support to their athletes throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, the remarkable achievements of the Teurlings Catholic High School baseball team deserve recognition for exemplifying the values of teamwork, determination, and excellence.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana hereby commends and congratulates Teurlings Catholic High School baseball team on winning the 2025 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Baseball Division II Select Championship for the second consecutive year.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Brooks Badeaux.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE