2025 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 273

BY REPRESENTATIVE SCHAMERHORN

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Simpson High School girls' basketball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2025 Class C Select state championship.

WHEREAS, the Simpson High School Lady Broncos basketball team captured the 2025 Class C Select state title by defeating Summerfield High School, 73-41, in the championship game held on March 7, 2025, at the University Center on the campus of Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Broncos victory marks the first girls' basketball state championship for Simpson High School since 2001, and all fifteen members of the team will be returning for the 2025-2026 season; and

WHEREAS, Simpson's Olivia Edwards was recognized as the Most Valuable Player with twenty-one points and ten rebounds in the title match; Dakota Miller had twenty points and thirteen rebounds, Hallie Rollins had ten points and nine rebounds, and Isabella Hunnicutt added eight points and fourteen rebounds; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2025 Simpson High School Lady Broncos basketball team are Regan Clutter, Kodi Miller, Ashley Miller, Abbi Dooley, Ashlyn Allain, Olivia Edwards, Jaden Losavio, Hallie Rollins, Bella Hunnicutt, McKenzie Grover, Natalie Goforth, Anistin Williams, Payton Fracasso, Olivia Watkins, and Alyssa Rowe; the team managers are Kassidy Dowden, Pistol Rollins, and Amelia Dooley; and

WHEREAS, the Simpson High School girls' basketball program is led by Head Coach Lynsey Rachal and Assistant Coaches Steven McDonald and Clay Cooper; and

WHEREAS, the Simpson High School Lady Broncos are most deserving of the highest recognition for the team's incredible accomplishments this season.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Simpson High School girls' basketball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2025 Class C Select state championship and does hereby encourage the players and coaches to continue their excellent work and always strive for greatness.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES