HLS 14RS-2374 ORIGINAL

Regular Session, 2014

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 64

## BY REPRESENTATIVES SCHEXNAYDER AND PRICE

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the members and coaches of the Lutcher High School girls' powerlifting team, past and present, upon winning eight consecutive state championships

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend and congratulate the lifters and coaches of the Lutcher High School girls'
3	powerlifting team for winning eight consecutive Division II Class 4A state
4	championships from 2007 to 2014.
5	WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the citizens of Louisiana and the House of
6	Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana recognize and record the significant
7	achievements of the members, past and present, of the Lutcher High School girls'
8	powerlifting team over the past eight seasons, each of which culminated in the Lady
9	Bulldogs winning the Division II Class 4A state championship; and
10	WHEREAS, the latest installment in the amazing succession of championship
11	seasons occurred on March 21, 2014, when the Lutcher High girls' powerlifting team won
12	eight of eleven weight classes, easily taking the title and proving their dominance by scoring
13	only two fewer overall points than the second-place and third-place teams combined; and
14	WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commemorate the names of the young women of the
15	Lutcher High School girls' powerlifting championship teams because each of them deserves
16	recognition for her individual contribution to the team's success, which continues to bring
17	tremendous pride, prestige, and honor to the school, the community, and the state; and
18	WHEREAS, Ellie Becnel, Paige Chauvin, Megan Deslatte, Katie Duhe, Monique
19	Hymel, Brittany Lambert, Ambrea Lee, Tori Mabile, Katie Ocmand, Lauren Roussel, and

1	Amelia Schexnayder are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport
2	of powerlifting and for winning the 2007 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and
3	WHEREAS, Ellie Becnel, Kacie Brignac, Ashley Doucet, Ambrea Lee, Aimee
4	Louque, Tori Mabile, Katie Ocmand, Michelle Poche, Rickeyma Ross, Amelia Schexnayder,
5	and Bry'an Storks are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of
6	powerlifting and for winning the 2008 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and
7	WHEREAS, Morgan Bleakley, Kacie Brignac, Kari Cockburn, Jessica Gordon,
8	Aimee Louque, Suzanne Louque, Tori Mabile, Katie Ocmand, Rickeyma Ross, and Bry'an
9	Storks are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of powerlifting
10	and for winning the 2009 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and
11	WHEREAS, Chelsie Batiste, Morgan Bleakley, Kari Cockburn, Jaleen Dumas, Kylee
12	Jackson, Aimee Louque, Suzanne Louque, Alexis Nelson, Rickeyma Ross, China Storks,
13	and Emma Waguespack are all commended for their determination and dedication to the
14	sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2010 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and
15	WHEREAS, Darri'Yonne Anderson, Domonique Bell, Morgan Bleakley, Sara Duhe,
16	Jaleen Dumas, Ariel Jackson, Kylee Jackson, Destiny Kliebert, Suzanne Louque, China
17	Storks, and Destiny Walker are all commended for their determination and dedication to the
18	sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2011 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and
19	WHEREAS, Gabrielle Clement, Jasmine Davis, Jema Harrilal, Destiny Kliebert,
20	Carli Lambert, Kristin Martin, Brandy Scharwath, Victoria Vicknair, Destiny Walker, and
21	Daquisha Washington are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport
22	of powerlifting and for winning the 2012 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and
23	WHEREAS, Gabrielle Clement, Jema Harrilal, Destiny Kliebert, Carli Lambert,
24	Denisha Melancon, Ja'Naija Miller, Jacey Milton, China Storks, Ashley Tucker, Victoria
25	Vicknair, and Destiny Walker are all commended for their determination and dedication to
26	the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2013 Division II Class 4A girls' championship;
27	and
28	WHEREAS, Jasmine Davis, Carli Lambert, Denisha Melancon, Mallory Millet,
29	Ja'Naija Miller, Jacey Milton, China Storks, Taylor Thomas, Ashley Tucker, Victoria
30	Vicknair, and Destiny Walker are all commended for their determination and dedication to

1 the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2014 Division II Class 4A girls' championship;

2 and

- WHEREAS, over the last eight championship years, the coaches of the Lutcher High
- 4 School Lady Bulldogs powerlifting team have instilled in their lifters the kind of leadership
- 5 and motivational skills needed to achieve great success both on and off the powerlifting
- 6 floor; and
- WHEREAS, the Lutcher High School girls' powerlifting teams from 2007 to 2014
- 8 have crafted a dynasty of champions; they have imparted a commanding sense of honor and
- 9 immense pride to the school, the town of Lutcher, and the state of Louisiana that will forever
- 10 be remembered.
- 11 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the
- 12 Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the lifters and coaches, past
- and present, of Lutcher High School and does hereby offer best wishes to the young women
- who have created a unique legacy of lifting at Lutcher High.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to
- 16 Lutcher High School principal Dr. Daryl J. Scoggin.

## DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

Schexnayder HR No. 64

Commends the members and coaches of the Lutcher High School girls' powerlifting team, past and present, for achieving eight consecutive state championships.